Sawmill BBQ

Sawmill BBQ

4060 Mississippi Avenue
Cahokia IL 62206
618-332-3000

Visit Us

Find Us

Sawmill BBQ Reviews

Sawmill BBQ in Cahokia, Illinois with over 500 reviews across the internet

Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Feb 04, 2021 by Jean Mayfield

    I can't say enough good things about this restaurant! The food is amazing! I had the fish sandwich, which is tilapia. The outside was crispy, the inside was moist and not chewy. The sweet potato fries were hot and delicious and the salad was fresh. My boyfriend had the Beef Daddy, which is the brisket. The meat was fork tender and just melted in your mouth. We also had onion straws, fried pickles and toasted ravioli. The amount of food for the money was good. If you leave here hungry, that's your fault. Plus, the service was excellent! Olivia took very good care of us and was so nice. We will definitely return here on our other travels.

  • Nov 20, 2020 by Tim

    Take a chance and come to Sawmill BBQ in Cahokia and I absolutely promise, you won't be disappointed!! Exceptional food and service by every standard. Had the rib platter, which comes with two sides and although I was completely stuffed all I could think about was getting my sticky BBQ hands on more of those ribs. Will definitely be back!! :-)

  • Nov 11, 2020 by allisontE7628JQ

    We stayed at the campground next to Sawmill BBQ and chose it for dinner in one night. It was great! They have lots of options, including salads and sandwiches and platters. I recommend checking out their daily special. If it doesn't sound great, the nachos are an excellent option! A full order is plenty for 2 to share. Our favorite side dish (we tried several) was the fried okra. Definitely recommend this if you're staying at the campground or anywhere nearby!

  • Nov 11, 2020 by 918tinab

    Food was excellent. Staff was friendly. The nachos were amazing Ribs were excellent I would definitely recommend this place

  • Oct 18, 2020 by Erika D.

    Perhaps the best BBQ I've ever had. We lucked out and were staying in the adjacent RV park and decided by default to eat here. The brisket was practically melt in your mouth. We didn't love the baked beans or green beans sides. Both were pretty lacking in flavor. The $1 add-on sides are well worth it. (Other places would just charge the extra $1 whether you want the fancier sides or not.) Get the fried pickles. They're wedges, which usually aren't my favorite, but these are amazing! And the staff was super friendly and helpful. The cherry on top! Also, a note on Covid--they disinfected, closed off many tables, and we felt very safe.

  • Oct 10, 2020 by Christina Lanvermeier

    Excellent... All the way around. The brisket is the Bomb. All the sides rock. The sweet tea was perfect as the rest. Wonderful service.

  • Oct 03, 2020 by Richard Lanvermeier

    Best little BBQ spot in the area. Burger with brisket was fantastic. Will absolutely be coming back in any time I pass thru. Thanks guys. Good job.

  • Sep 29, 2020 by Chloe Hill

    Hands down the best BBQ I have had in years! So tender and not even a little dry. Great sauces. Favorite sides were applesauce (home style) and the corn nuggets.

    My girlfriend and I stumbled across this place and thought we would give it a try. The nicest staff and *so* well orchestrated, even with COVID restrictions. We will most certainly be back and will have to bring friends.

  • Sep 26, 2020 by Bradford Ogata

    Food was outstanding and service was great! I had pulled pork and brisket, which were both about as good as it gets. Baked beans and cole slaw were good, too, but the meat was obviously the star of the show. Reasonable prices, especially given the portion sizes.

  • Sep 22, 2020 by 8 3

    Great tasting food and quick service. Had the pulled pork and the mustard bbq sauce, I would buy gallons of it if they sold it. Thanks for staying open and providing amazing food

  • Sep 19, 2020 by Lucia Nevejans

    Good food, unfortunately you have to eat outside with the flies... not good

  • Sep 17, 2020 by James Brown

    Friendly Staff .. Food was good also

  • Sep 15, 2020 by Cheryl Black

    This quaint lil place serves up the best brisket i have ever had. Better than anything we had in Memphis!

  • Sep 13, 2020 by Richard B

    Very good food! It's pricey, but wrll worth it in my opinion! And always fast and great customer service.

  • Aug 28, 2020 by Taylor R.

    Great choice to eat. Felt very home cooked with heart. Had the chicken strip sandwich with coleslaw and potato salad, absolutely zero complaints.

  • Aug 27, 2020 by Jason Lopez

    Great food. Good sized portions. Nice ambiance.

  • Aug 11, 2020 by Cobcorn

    I have been here a half dozen times and it's always been great! The service is always top notch. I brought friends here from out of town and they absolutely loved this place. The people that work here are very friendly too,especially Megan who is an absolute doll inside and outside, she's always mindful to her customers and always has a smile on her face.

  • Jul 27, 2020 by Samuel Gullatte

    The BBQ was fantastic. I got to try several cuts including ribs and chicken and it was all terrific. The service couldn’t be better and the atmosphere is wonderfully calm and chill. But the highlight is the decor. Lots of places decorate with antiques but this place is on another level. A massive chainsaw, washing machine, logging tools, sawmill blades, and sled just to name a few.

  • Jul 19, 2020 by Traaci Greenwell

    Excellent food, madly in love with the sweet potato fries! :-)

  • Jul 10, 2020 by Stephanie Malecki

    Some of the best BBQ we've ever had, and hands down the best potato salad! Actually, everything we had was fabulous-corn nuggets, mac & cheese bites, homemade chips, green beans (even my daughter loved the green beans!) And the BBQ- wow! Several sauces to choose from and all were delicious.

    Highly recommend this place!

  • Jun 27, 2020 by Levi K.

    Top notch barbecue for a cheap barbecue price. 100% recommend to anyone in the area. Relaxed atmosphere. Tender and flavorful meats. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Jun 13, 2020 by ketah777

    We have eaten at this restaurant or gotten take out while we were staying at Cahokia RV Parque where this restaurant is located. The staff is very friendly and the service and food are excellent. I don't even typically like BBQ (I know, I'm weird), but I actually love the BBQ at this restaurant. I also love their potato salad, pasta salad and coleslaw. Seriously, the food here is great!

  • Jun 10, 2020 by Rachel Hughes

    Nachos were amazing! Homemade potato chips, beans, pulled pork and slaw. Enough to eat and a midnight snack! Sweet BBQ sauce recommended highly!

  • May 19, 2020 by Monica B.

    First time ordering from here.Food was great! Service was good.The guy at the counter was very polite.

  • May 05, 2020 by Andy L.

    Excellent service, great food and quality of menu items.  Beef Daddy is awesome and so are the pork nachos.

  • May 05, 2020 by andylX2683WG

    Great menu and the food is excellent. Definitely generous with their portions and will be back several times.

  • Apr 28, 2020 by Will Gibson

    Loved everything I’ve gotten from here. Brisket, pulled pork, and ribs have all be absolutely perfect. Worth a stop for sure.

  • Mar 10, 2020 by Dan P

    Stopped in for a late lunch on a work trip. The staff was friendly and answered any questions we had. Ordered a 2 meat tray with brisket and smoked wings. The wings were amazing! The brisket was very good, but was a little tough. The potato salad was delicious as well. Will definitely come back when in town again.

  • Mar 10, 2020 by Dan P

    Stopped in for a late lunch on a work trip. The staff was friendly and answered any questions we had. Ordered a 2 meat tray with brisket and smoked wings. The wings were amazing! The brisket was very good, but was a little tough. The potato salad was delicious as well. Will definitely come back when in town again.

  • Mar 04, 2020 by Christopher Roth

    Small place, Huge flavor!!! You would never know that this place was a top notch BBQ!

  • Feb 06, 2020 by Robert Crawford

    This place is criminally under-visited. The few times I've been there, I haven't seen a dinner crowd, even during the prime times of 5:30 and 6:00 in the evening. And it's a shame because the food is delicious. Their spicy and sweet barbecue sauces are a must-try, the pulled pork and brisket were wonderful. Their potato salad is also something you need to stop in for at least once if you're in the St. Louis area. The staff is friendly, and you just can't go wrong here.

  • Jan 13, 2020 by Chairty Grimsley

    Amazing food I got the brisket philly and my husband got the full order of nachos. Huge servings and great staff

  • Jan 02, 2020 by Michael Wiscarson

    Great food. Portions amazing. I don't like having to order art the counter though. Will visit again??

  • Dec 30, 2019 by Thomas R.

    Great place. Food is delicious. Staff/owner is attentive and the quality of the meats do not disappoint. Had the philly brisket with their house made chips and cole slaw.

  • Dec 27, 2019 by Addie Becker

    Amazing BBQ and Awesome service! Vicky was super friendly and accommodating. I am at a loss for our servers name right now, but she was amazing as well. Well worth the trip from stl. We will be back for sure!

  • Dec 04, 2019 by Amanda Taylor

    Never would have stopped here if we hadn't moved right down the street but I'm so glad we did. Amazing bbq (nachos are my favorite) and really great prices. Cute little restaurant. Don't let the location fool you, definitely worth stopping in

  • Nov 07, 2019 by Chris Just

    Dear Lord, where to start? The location will have many scratching their collective heads, a BBQ joint in a trailer park? Yes. Modern as can be and superb service? Yes. Food that will leave you wanting more? Yes! The Cuban is not on the menu but should be as the pulled pork is sublime. For smoking 16 hours, it outta be. Do yourself a favor when you are next in the mood for really good BBQ, get your butt in here!

  • Oct 18, 2019 by Jennifer B.

    Very fast. The ribs are very tasty, the baked beans are outstanding and the cole slaw was a great blend of creamy and tangy.

  • Oct 18, 2019 by Gma2GirlsX3

    Brisket was awesome! Super friendly staff. Onsite restaurant at our campground. Plenty of parking if you’re not staying here.

  • Oct 06, 2019 by Felita M.

    Never heard of Sawmill until a few months ago.  We actually came for a work lunchtime get together.  Seating is a little limited but the food is really tasty.  We had BBQ nachos, which are served on potato chips instead of tortilla chips.  OMG!!They were sooo good.  I hated that there were coworkers around to share with.  Delectable nachos; best thing on the menu on my opinion.

  • Oct 06, 2019 by Ellen H.

    After touring the country for three weeks, stopping here was an unexpected delight!!! Had filet with shrimp topping and white sauce, red potatoes and green beans. Perfectly done steak, tasteful spiced shrimp.  Even the Texas toast was perfect and crunchy. Although an "order and sit/takeout style", staff came to the table to see what we thought of the food. A sure hidden treasure in this area outside town.

  • Sep 29, 2019 by Matthew F.

    Found this gem while visiting for a concert. Awesome food all around and the staff was awesome. Brisket and pork were amazing. Can't go wrong!

  • Sep 29, 2019 by Matthew F.

    Found this gem while visiting for a concert. Awesome food all around and the staff was awesome. Brisket and pork were amazing. Can't go wrong!

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Richard D.

    Amazing little place in Cahokia Illinois. I had the beef brisket with two sides and it was really good. The place is rustic and the food is amazing. Will go back soon.

  • Aug 06, 2019 by karen m

    The bbq was really good and the chicken also was tender and tasty! It is a very relaxed atmosphere and the owners are so friendly! It is laid back and country feel...right in the middle of town.

  • Aug 03, 2019 by 629deannl

    Staying at the campground next to it we smelled the bbq the day prior and knew we would be altering plans to cook at the camper for a meal to eat what we had been smelling. The food was very good with very friendly service! It is a dry rub smoked meats with sauces on the side. Definitely try the white bbq sauce, it was the best in my opinion. The house chips were very good as well. They do serve large portions that were very good reheated for a snack later! If in the area again we would definitely eat there again!!

  • Jul 28, 2019 by Kelly C.

    We are staying at the RV Park next door so decided to give this place a try. We are from the Pacific Northwest, so we definitely are NOT authorities on BBQ but we really enjoyed our meal. I had a pulled pork sandwich, baked beans and potato salad. All were delicious! The pulled pork sandwich had so much meat that I felt like I had enough for two full sandwiches. My husband had the brisket and the same sides as me. He also loved the food. The restaurant was clean, staff was friendly, food came out fast and hot! If we are ever back this way we will eat here again for sure.

  • Jul 19, 2019 by Rory N

    That bbq smell permeates the next door pool area... It makes you sooo hungry! We came in with high expectations... Which were all met or exceeded. I had the pork plate, side salad with blu cheese and a "bud". Quite delicious. Love their Texas toast.. and their desert "bytes"! Great bbq family dining.. Tastefully decorated. Friendly folks!

  • Jul 03, 2019 by Carlos S.

    Another great meal!  Every year, when we stop over in the St.Louis area, we come by to have some good BBQ.  Everything from the pork, turkey, brisket and hot link were delicious. Potato salad, fried okra, mac and cheese bits and corn nuggets were great sides as well.  Highly recommend trying this place if you are in town.

  • Jul 03, 2019 by Carlos S.

    Another great meal!  Every year, when we stop over in the St.Louis area, we come by to have some good BBQ.  Everything from the pork, turkey, brisket and hot link were delicious. Potato salad, fried okra, mac and cheese bits and corn nuggets were great sides as well.  Highly recommend trying this place if you are in town.

  • Jun 06, 2019 by mzgdaz2mg

    Grest food! The only thing I didnt like was the restroom is not in the same building as the restaurant. Other than that its GREAT!

  • May 23, 2019 by Dondi H.

    This place does BBQ right! If you are visiting or passing through Cahokia, make sure to grab some of this amazing food! The ribs are hands down some of the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot of ribs in my days. The friendly staff put the cherry on the top of this gym. Eat here. You won't regret it!

  • May 07, 2019 by Mark K

    The Brisket Philly was delicious. If you like peppers this is for you. Also the pork steak is great as well. You have your choice of sauces.

  • May 01, 2019 by sooner4

    Stopped here for a bite to eat before a Cardinals game. The food was awesome and the staff was excellent friendly conversation and extremely helpful.

  • Apr 15, 2019 by Wanda H.

    Great place.  I've never even HEARD of Buffalo Toasted Raviolis before!  And they're SO much tastier than regular toasted raviolis!!!  Hubby and I shared a 2 meat platter with brisket and turkey.  The brisket was not dry or too fatty, and I favored it over the turkey.  We had baked beans and green beans for our sides and both were good.  They didn't have any ciders here, but they did carry some Seagram's Escapes and the Peach Bellini turned out to be quite tasty!  Quick and friendly service.  Would definitely stop back in here if we're ever in the area again.

  • Apr 13, 2019 by markkX8921GX

    If you like bbq this is an excellent place. They have all kinds of sauces and with the exception of porksteaks they don't put sauce on. Its always good.

  • Apr 05, 2019 by Scott S.

    This place is a gem.  Absolutely great food and value.  Prices are very reasonable given the quality and quantity.  Every BBQ dish is great.  I usually try whatever meat special they are pushing.  Warning: the pork steaks are humongous.  So many great sides to choose from (although they do run out from time to time).  They have some of the best sweet potato fries.  The corn nuggets and Mac and cheese bites are also some favorites. This place is in a campground, but in Cahokia/Sauget IL, which is the last place I expect to find a campground, so the whole experience of coming to this place is odd.  It used to be barely a room of a building, but their great food is the basis of their success and they keep adding on.  You'll wonder how you ever found this place, but you'll be glad you did.  It's a must try.

  • Mar 30, 2019 by Sandy F

    While staying at the Cahokia RV Parque we decided to take advantage of the BBQ restaurant next door. What a great place with excellent food. We were very pleased with the food, the service and the prices. If you are in Cahokia you need to eat here!

  • Mar 25, 2019 by Vikki C.

    Nothing anyone else hasn't said!   Sides were generous and tasty.  I had the turkey and DH had the pulled pork.  While mine was excellent his was sublime.   Took pictures of all the sawmill paraphernalia.  Love the juxtaposition of the RV park.  Just made it all the more surreal.

  • Mar 25, 2019 by Vikki C.

    Nothing anyone else hasn't said!   Sides were generous and tasty.  I had the turkey and DH had the pulled pork.  While mine was excellent his was sublime.   Took pictures of all the sawmill paraphernalia.  Love the juxtaposition of the RV park.  Just made it all the more surreal.

  • Mar 20, 2019 by Jeff A.

    Hmmm...You may be asking yourself, should I eat at Sawmill BBQ?  The answer is YES, you should eat at Sawmill BBQ.

  • Mar 20, 2019 by Jeff A.

    Hmmm...You may be asking yourself, should I eat at Sawmill BBQ?  The answer is YES, you should eat at Sawmill BBQ.

  • Feb 12, 2019 by Tracy W

    Not too far from other popular places, many would miss this Jam. They have awesome specials each day as well as a variety of sauces for your barbecue. However the meat is Juicy and flavorful and you do not need sauce. Try out the white barbecue sauce it is delicious. I have had pulled pork, pulled turkey, brisket, ribs. All of them are great

  • Jan 18, 2019 by Drew G.

    Wasted a half hour drive to a bbq joint in Belleville IL. To find out they were out of everything except turkey. Should of saved the gas and came here first. Probably one of the best briskets around. Cut thick and not hiden in au jus

  • Jan 18, 2019 by Drew G.

    Wasted a half hour drive to a bbq joint in Belleville IL. To find out they were out of everything except turkey. Should of saved the gas and came here first. Probably one of the best briskets around. Cut thick and not hiden in au jus

  • Jan 18, 2019 by 62286

    Excellent BBQ Salad with pork and brisketLots of delicious meat over a nice salad. Staff was helpful and friendly! The smoked wings were amazing too!

  • Jan 16, 2019 by Kris G.

    Very cool place! Awesome decor! Food is amazing. Some of the best pulled pork I have ever had. Their pork steak is a lb... this thing is a monster! If you're in the area stop in and check this place out.

  • Jan 16, 2019 by Kris G.

    Very cool place! Awesome decor! Food is amazing. Some of the best pulled pork I have ever had. Their pork steak is a lb... this thing is a monster! If you're in the area stop in and check this place out.

  • Jan 16, 2019 by imrlb21973

    Food is GREAT. Atmosphere is relaxed. We used to live close by, but now we have to make a special trip, well worth it!

  • Dec 13, 2018 by Nathan Wallace

    Very pleased. And I highly recommend. I got the pork steak. Very tender. I did try the brisket and that was amazing. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Nov 26, 2018 by John D.

    Great place. They have started serving Pork steak everyday come hungry if you get it the portion is large.  Also have them go light on the sauce it's good but I recommend putting your own sauce on.   The sides are great have had potato salad, beans, fried pickles, salad, pasta salad, fries and chips. All are great.   This is not Texas BBQ. But it is worth the trip! Just happen to stop there because it was close to work. The pork steak was excellent. Everyone in our party had a great experience all sides were delicious I had cole slaw baked beans and homemade chips. The fried pickles are a good add on for .75 cents

  • Nov 10, 2018 by danielkY5...

    El mejor BBQ de la ciudad! Simple, de estilo muy particular, una de ésas joyas escondidas. Una parrilla de gente agradable y comida exquisita!

  • Oct 12, 2018 by DanielleIndy1

    Very good! The brisket, the pulled pork and baked beans were so good! The place was nice and clean with friendly staff. Give them a try for sure!

  • Oct 02, 2018 by Mike K.

    Do not pass this family owned gem by. Great food,service and decor. #brisket!!!! It was excellent. It came well recommended and did not disappoint.

  • Oct 02, 2018 by Katherine D.

    Went here on a client's recommendation and was more than satisfied!! The bbq and sides were Amazing and the service was really great, too. Had their signature Brisket with sweet potato fries and salad. All items exceeded my expectations. Must try!!

  • Sep 27, 2018 by Dana A

    This place is a hidden gem in Cahokia, but it's just over the river from St. Louis, and well worth the trip. This famiiy-owned business has super-friendly staff, a rustic, casual atmosphere (not dive-y, just old-timey!) and they have the best barbecue we have found in the MO/IL area. The pork steaks are thick and tender, the brisket is always moist and tender, the brats... oh my goodness. Not to mention the RIBS. There are a lot of great sides on offer, too -- things like sweet potato fries (ask for some of their house-made ranch dressing to dip them in!), corn nuggets, fried okra, cole slaw, mac and cheese ... and I do not know what they do to make their green beans so delicious, but they are amazing. We love the side salads, too! And don't forget the garlic bread that comes with the platters! If my husband and I could give more stars, we would :). This is a great little place.

  • Sep 20, 2018 by L813NAjohns

    Was looking for a restaurant not far from Comfort Inn at I-255 and IL 157. Google search made this place sound unique, not fancy and simply a place for great BBQ. It delivered great brisket! We both ordered the Texas Beef Brisket sandwich and two sides (we chose baked beans—decent flavor and not soupy; pasta salad—think creamy macaroni salad; and house chips—thicker, crisp potato chips. All sides were very good. Brisket was fall apart tender after 14 hours of slow roasting, not dry and very good flavor that needed absolutely NO sauce—served on a butter toasted bun—it was sheer heaven. Ordering is simple: look at the menu board and order; they bring it to your table. The owner took time to answer all questions and was very proud, deservedly so, of his food. Service was always with a smile and we were visited three times to make sure everything was to our liking. Wish we had a good BBQ place like this back home!

  • Sep 19, 2018 by Jay M

    Good food but either they have no air conditioning or it was broken. Good thing they had bottomless cold beverages.

  • Sep 13, 2018 by Tanner W.

    We were visiting the St. Louis area, and found the Sawmill BBQ on Yelp. We could smell the aroma of BBQ in the parking lot. The restaurant is clean & casual, with each table equipped with plenty of napkins and four types of sauces. The napkins come later! We had the pulled pork, ribs and chicken. The ribs were to die for and the rest of the meats, sides and bread were delicious. Plenty of food for the price and went great with the atmosphere. The place is owned / run by a husband & wife team. They were very attentive and very nice to talk to. This BBQ gem is worth the stop --- we're going back!

  • Aug 18, 2018 by Lilmoon24ny

    We crossed the river and went here for dinner when we visited St. Louis. The brisket and ribs were quite good even without sauce, and I really enjoyed the potato salad and apple sauce sides.

  • Aug 17, 2018 by JCJake

    We were staying at the campground so we simply walked over for dinner. It was not busy when we were there and we had the pick of the place for seating. Very casual, deli-style ordering - you order at the counter, sit down and they deliver the food to you. Lots of beverage choices including beer (maybe wine, too, I can't recall). We ordered lots of different things for our family. We really enjoyed all of the meat and ribs that we had. The sides were nothing special though. The green beans could have been from a can from what we could tell. From that perspective I'd focus more on the entrees. Of the sauces, none were overly spicy including the new horseradish one we tried. Still, good, though. Staff were very friendly and service quick and efficient. If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend this restaurant. They also had some picnic tables outside. On a nice day, why not?

  • Aug 15, 2018 by Cathy S.

    Walking in, I knew this was the place! The aroma of the BBQ put my hunger in overdrive. Fantastic variation and everyone is happy to explain anything you have questions on. Good music playing on the radio and wonderful atmosphere. I'll be back every time I'm in town.

  • Aug 11, 2018 by Matt O.

    Stopped in here on a whim with my wife and two boys. Everything was delicious! Their new white sauce was very good. The coleslaw was creamy and sweet. The boys loved the apple sauce, even though it was chunky. We had burgers, brisket, and pulled pork. It was all very moist and delicious. This is a hidden gem!

  • Aug 06, 2018 by miked86284

    Friend and I ate there because we were too tired and hot to move the rv. Best thing we ever did. He had the brisket and I had the ribs Both had baked beans and they were as good as bbq. We will go back tomorrow and have more and listen to great country music.

  • Jul 28, 2018 by Sammy S.

    This was my first visit to Sawmill since the new owner took over.  I'm happy to say that the high quality standard is still in place, and there's actually a couple enhancements including better beers available (IPAs) and some awesome daily specials.  The Sawmill Cuban is delicious.  Be sure the try the White BBQ sauce (horseradish base). I previously posted a 5-star review for the BBQ, and I stand by that wholeheartedly.  Their BBQ remains the best in St. Louis and beyond.  I was slightly less impressed with the Breakfast Buffet.  There was a decent variety of the staples, including some great bacon and Cinnamon French Toast, but It just seems a bit dull compared to their regular menu.  Perhaps they could liven it up with some Baked Beans or Chili Con Carne, which many people consider standard breakfast items now, or even some Beef Brisket to make it more interesting.  Those things are a matter of taste, though.  My real complaint about the Buffet is that you have to use these tiny styrofoam plates and cups, which not only creates a ton of unnecessary waste, but also cheapens the whole experience.  Overall, the breakfast food wasn't bad, but I'll stick to the BBQ from now on. The BEST barbeque in St. Louis area!  Freshly cooked and delicious every time.  Everything I've had is awesome.  The ribs and smoked turkey are my favorites, but I recently tried the BBQ nachos were great, too.  My dad says their beef brisket is fantastic, as well.  Very nice environment too, plus an outdoor screened-in porch.  Outstanding service. I can't say enough good things about this place. Absolutely must try.  You'll forget all about Bully's, Bandana's and Pappy's.

  • Jul 08, 2018 by Rkakcardot

    Was parked at the campground next door, it was too hot and late to cook so decided to try it. We had the brisket sandwich and it was very good. It was s very busy place but there was plenty of seating. Staff was very helpful and if your at the campground anyway you might want to try it.

  • Jun 02, 2018 by Manny A.

    We were camping right next door and the aroma of smoked brisket lured us in. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.  The food turned out to be delicious. We savored every bite.  Please support this restaurant. It is a hidden gem and you can't go wrong.

  • May 21, 2018 by Charlie S

    Sawmill has great BBQ and service. Everything I've tried is great here, especially the brisket and pulled pork.

  • May 21, 2018 by Jon L.

    OMG go out of your way to eat here. Best ribs and brisket we've ever had. So tender. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Neat decor but the food is absolutely amazing. If you drive by this place without stopping it serves you right.

  • May 15, 2018 by Rick S

    I love some good BBQ, and this place did not disappoint. I only had time to try the brisket and I was impressed. Great sides and sauces as well. The staff was friendly and fast.

  • Apr 30, 2018 by M7580GMbillb

    Babyback ribs where delicious, as was the coleslaw, the side salad and the bread. One of our party had the Brisket Philly sandwich, a Monday special which was also very good.

  • Apr 30, 2018 by Jim R.

    Best food we have had in weeks Wish we lived closer Ribs are great Beans and coleslaw are really good

  • Apr 20, 2018 by Deborah B.

    I was parked at the rv park and walked over.  Very pleasantly surprised.  Very pleasant and helpful staff.  Good red wine selection.  You order and sit.  Pretty big with the usual bbq selections.  I did order the mac cheese bites.  They were yummy.  I had beef, moist and tender.  Servings were more than enough.  Clean

  • Apr 02, 2018 by Jaynel C

    Enjoyed an early dinner with the family! Loved the Ribs and the homemade sweet sauce and the spicy sauce. Brisket was also good and the macaroni bites. Kids all loved the pulled pork sandwiches! Super friendly owners!!

  • Mar 28, 2018 by Zoe G.

    Had a wonderful cuban sandwich today at sawmill.. Maybe it's just me but portions seem bigger and better. Very nice family running the business.. Sides are all good which is unusual at bbq places.. Really good sauces also... Yummy.. We go once a week and always happy..

  • Feb 27, 2018 by W P.

    So, someone asked me the other day what my favorite BBQ place was. I didn't have an answer at the time. But, now I do. The Sawmill BBQ is a quaint Mom and Pop operation that met all of my expectations and more. The owners are very friendly and kind. I had the ribs, and I have to tell you they were phenomenal. My wife had the pulled pork and loved every bite. We will be back for sure.

  • Jan 05, 2018 by wanderingkale

    Stopped in on a weekday between lunch and dinner, traveling through the area on business. This place really hit the spot for a good early dinner. The staff was polite, a good variety on the menu, and plenty of good food. The ambiance with the wood stove was nice. The brisket was really good, possibly some of the best I've had. The potato salad was decent, it needed a bit of salt. The prices were very good, and overall this was a great dining experience.

  • Nov 27, 2017 by Kat C.

    This was so amazing. We pulled in to our campsite next door, starving, and went in. The family that owns it was so nice. Then, the food. So good. Tender, fall off the bone ribs, heavenly brisket. Don't miss this little gem!

  • Oct 26, 2017 by Thomas E

    located within 5 miles of Comfort Inn where we stayed that night, we were greeted by owners who explained their cooking processes and served us quickly with very tasty meals. We shared pulled pork and 1/2 order short ribs (outstanding!). The cole slaw, baked beans and texas toast was delicious as well. They offer 3 kinds of store-made BBQ sauce (bottles on table) and all 3 were wonderful. Looking forward to a return visit early next year.

  • Oct 14, 2017 by billgwen2017

    We had lunch here. The pulled pork sandwich was delicious, along with the beans, coleslaw and potato salad. We loved the sauces. A real quaint, very clean restaurant. Worth a visit. The family that owns it is super sweet. Service was top-notch.

  • Oct 05, 2017 by Stu M

    I'm still eating my pulled pork sandwich! Had to write a review as I think this place is so good. I love the friendly service but the rich, varied and delicious food menu is outstanding. Definitely coming back here if I get the chance.

  • Sep 30, 2017 by Merlyn1970

    We have been going to this restaurant for a few years, and loved the food! In recent months, however, it seems that the portions have become considerably smaller than before. Also, several of the side items that were once included in the "meal price," are an extra $1.00 per item extra. The food is still very good, but no longer a very good value. We were glad that it is now open on Sundays, but after a few times of "smaller portions," and additionally charges, we no feel that the meals are worth the price of the meals.

  • Sep 21, 2017 by jonthethird

    Had dinner at this small, family run BBQ joint, and left feeling well fed after a great meal. The meat is served dry, and you can choose which sauce to put over it. The sides are also worthy of note. The service is flawless, with the owner onsite to make sure everyone is content. Does not look like much from the road, but dont let that fool you

  • Sep 20, 2017 by MN_Peter

    Had dinner... it was so good, we went back for breakfast! Authentic BBQ joint. They have beer for mom and dad and a nice selection of local soda for the kids.

  • Aug 24, 2017 by Hailey M.

    This place is AWESOME! The pulled pork and their ribs are delicious, not to mention their sides. The setup of this resturant is something different. You order your meal, but it also seems to resemble a fast food type of ordering set up. They give you your drinks at the counter in plastic cups and then you find a table to sit down at. Once you learn how the place works, it's pretty easy to understand. Their corn nuggets (premium side) is something really unique, but, it's their homemade applesauce that really had me drooling. It was fabulous! I wish I could've purchased more to take home.

  • Aug 24, 2017 by Dick O.

    New owners still great food.  Wife had pulled pork.and I had brisket. Generous portions. Try the potato salad. Different but very good.

  • Aug 23, 2017 by Edgar S.

    We're on an RV trip and stopped at the RV park where Sawmill is located.  We usually cook for ourselves but last night I was glad we chose to try Sawmill.  The owners and staff were very welcoming.  They've created a very kitchy farm themed place that's cool to look at during the short wait for the great food.  My wife had a combination platter of brisket and pulled pork.  I had the ham steak.  All the meats were well seasoned and smoked. Our sides were good as well.  I had baked beans and fried corn nuggets.  Not good for you but plenty tasty.  We also tried the fried Mac and cheese, which was fine but really, isn't m&c fine without the fry?  All in all Sawmill was an enjoyable experience.  Try it!

  • Aug 16, 2017 by Nipohc

    Who Knew? Two days ago we took advice of friends and headed down to the Great River Road in Cahokia Illinois to see if they were right when they said the Sawmill BBQ Restaurant had terrific BBQ. Over the years working in St. Louis, Memphis and Kansas City AKA the " BBQ Triangle" there was a lot of BBQ tasting going on- but never did one of those restaurants excite me. The Sawmill BBQ Restaurant was built from an old deconstructed barn. Interiors are simple, creative and warm. The huge chalkboard menu looms over the ordering counter, where you pay and food is brought to your table. I always go for the ribs. Trying not to count the years of let-downs had at other places where my simple question was met with a firm "Yes the ribs are tender!", and so often they were not. So when served at the Sawmill BBQ, I looked at the meaty ribs finished with a beautiful dry rub nestled next to some lovely potato salad and green beans...and sent my hopeful wish for tender into the universe. Yes the ribs were meaty with almost no visible fat, and they were tender. Melt in your mouth tender. The excellent rub, fine quality meat- so yielding in the mouth, so deliciously flavored, coupled with excellent potato salad, big slabs of seasoned toast and a variety of home-made sauces. This was the BBQ always desired. I wanted to cry. The super waitress turned out to be one of four Will children of Owners Steve and Vicki Will, and their story is interesting. For years Steve helped manage some venerable St. Louis restaurants such as the Pasta House, and Vicki worked in accounting positions around St. Louis, but they always had a dream of owning their own restaurant. Purchased earlier in 2017, they are continuing the 9-year BBQ Sawmill tradition, adding marketing, on-line presence and expanding to offer a Sawmill BBQ Breakfast. Wish we had known about it sooner. While dining we saw a steady stream of carry-out orderers come and leave with a smile on their face as though holding a treasure. Don't wait to late as some menu items sell out. Very easy to find.

  • Jul 28, 2017 by Dan H

    You order at the counter then they bring everything to you, even refills on drinks. Was there for work and recommended to eat here was glad. The food was great, the sides were also. The turkey was some of the best and my partner said the brisket was also. Will be on my list of places to go next time in town.

  • Jun 30, 2017 by Dawn F.

    OMG! Excellent BBQ! We will definitely be back. We had the beef brisket & pulled pork. Wonderful.  We have tried several BBQ places in STL & this is hand down the best.

  • Jun 18, 2017 by Sara H.

    This place is a hidden gem! Fantastic BBQ! Great brisket! They have combo platters, and the turkey and brats were  really good too. We'll be back!

  • Jun 08, 2017 by DavidChell

    Came for lunch with a co-worker while in the area for business. We both had the brisket and salads and they were excellent. Popular place with lots of locals and regulars. You order at the counter then they bring you your food. Had a great time!

  • May 28, 2017 by aufinc

    My family stayed at the campground. They offered a 10% discount. We had to pork nachos. They were amazing and huge order. We got the turkey dinner platter with green bean and applesauce sides. The applesauce must be homemade. It had huge pieces of apples. My husband got the potato salad which he loved and the macaroni and cheese bites. He only got 1 because our daughters devoured them. Food takes a little bit of time but oh it's so worth it. Servings are huge. 2 people can share one plate. Staff was very friendly and wanted to make sure we were happy with our meal.

  • May 13, 2017 by Alejandra G.

    This place was on our way back to our hotel from Busch Stadium. Great little place people are so nice. The place was a little busy but the staff still was concerned about if you needed a refill or if your food was ok. Food was great, I would definitely do this again.

  • May 11, 2017 by Eleni B.

    I had the smoked turkey and green beans with coleslaw. The buns are great! Today was the grand opening under new management. The owners are really nice and the flow of the whole restaurant is nice. I'll be taking my family again. This place is kid friendly. Prices are great. They have brewed tea/sweet or regular. The sauces are on the table, which include sweet, spicy and a mustard based sauce. You go in and order your food, pick your seat and then wait for your food.

  • Apr 03, 2017 by Albert S

    Na aankomst op de Cahokia RV Park naar de Sawmill voor een maaltijd. In een leuke ambiance (alsof je bij iemand thuis was) gegeten. Prima eten voor weinig geld (zoals bijna elke keer tijdens onze reis), portie ruim voldoende en vooral lekker. En juist de leuke sfeer geeft alles net iets extra's.

  • Nov 23, 2016 by DStahre

    Place looks like what you'd expect an authentic BBQ place to look like! It has that rustic look. Really good food I highly recommend it!

  • Nov 10, 2016 by Chad M.

    Love this place, it's  a cute little  mom and pop type  restaurant. The brisket and the pulled pork are my favorite  but you  definitely  have  to try their nachos  it's  making  me hungry  just  thinking  about  it. The service  is excellent. It's  not a very busy place  I guess  since  it's  on the wrong  side of the river but work's  out for me since  the service  is quick  which is a plus.

  • Sep 18, 2016 by despidey

    At the front of the Cahokia RV Park, people pack in this pleasant, traditional BBQ place. We ate there twice, the brisket, pulled pork and ribs are all excellent, as are the side such as macaroni salad, baked beans and onion rings

  • Sep 04, 2016 by Shana T.

    This place sits on an RV parking lot. It was about a 20 minute drive from STL and easy to get to. I liked dining area with the old timey decoration. The food was good as I was in the mood for bbq so this hit the spot. Worth a visit and I'll visit again.

  • Aug 30, 2016 by Stephen C

    Great BBQ and great family service. The pulled pork sandwich for lunch was very filling with two sides. The service cant be beat, especially if Britney is running the show.

  • Aug 23, 2016 by weteamscott

    Food was great! And the customer service was good. The menu had a lot to choose from. Very small facility but very welcoming

  • Jul 17, 2016 by Busyx6

    OMG!!! My family of six (four boys 16-20) enjoyed our dinner at this establishment. The food was excellent and the portions were more than we expected!! Not even our boys could finish everything! Most of us wanted ribs, but they had run out so only one of our boys got the ribs; however, their website clearly says "until we run out" so we knew that was a possibility - but we each got something different and were able to try a variety of other menu items. Not only was the food out of this world, but the atmosphere was super! Our family had a great time here!!!

  • Jul 06, 2016 by Peter K.

    Delicious food. Got the 3 meat platter  -- pulled pork, brisket, and baby back ribs. All 3 were smokey and perfectly cooked. Choice of 3 sauces at the table. Had the baked beans and pasta salad for sides -- both tasty. Order at counter and choose table. Nice friendly atmosphere.  Great kids menu ($4.95 for a main, side, and drink) if you have little ones to feed. Prices overall were what you would expect for quality BBQ.

  • Jun 27, 2016 by Harbug63

    The atmosphere is incredible. It has a lot of old time decorations. It is a very relaxing atmosphere, the staff is very friendly.

  • Jun 18, 2016 by weteamscott

    Food was great! And the customer service was good. The menu had a lot to choose from. Very small facility but very welcoming

  • May 26, 2016 by Chad M.

    Not bad bbq. Stopped by on my lunch break and had the pulled pork and coleslaw. It was above average and would go back if I was in the area.

  • Apr 25, 2016 by jtsimmons

    Great small local BBQ restaurant service great brisket, Side include corn poppers. Very filling and great friendly service

  • Apr 20, 2016 by Lauren W.

    Average price. Quick & friendly service. I had the special which was 1/2 chicken & 2 sides today. It was very good, cooked properly, juicy, with crispy skin. The home made chips were warm & seasoned well. I was surprised that there were only 2 types of bbq sauce.

  • Apr 11, 2016 by Ruth N.

    I cannot believe I lived in St. Louis and never tried this place out. Sawmill BBQ is truly the hidden gem as far as BBQ goes. It competes on par with Pappy's and has a lot more of a mom and pop feel to it. Make the journey across the river and try this place out! Plus, it's conveniently located next to the Alton & Southern Yard in East St. Louis.

  • Feb 26, 2016 by Micheal M.

    One of St.Louis's hidden gems !! I hope that tit Guy Fieri doesn't find it. Excellent place

  • Feb 05, 2016 by Joseph F.

    Fantastic food!  I have tried pretty much everything currently on the menu as of this date. Anything you get, will not disappoint. They recently (I think) added the smoked barbecue half chicken dinner. Wonderful stuff. Generally you can get pulled pork, beef brisket, or the turkey. Love each one of these. They have a great cheeseburger, and bratwurst. On occasion you may catch their pork steak special. Good stuff. Cannot say enough about this place. I go weekly to this place. I go early to ensure I get what I want. They do run out of stuff if they had a busy day.

  • Sep 26, 2015 by Banny9949

    Portions seemed a little smaller than the past couple years but still rates high because it's so good! Also don't like how they have no name sodas now so I just got water. Restaurant itself seems nicer and bigger all the time. Apparently they have a few slots now. I was amazed with how crowded it gets during lunch on weekdays. It's quite popular and I see why. Staff is always very friendly which is also a plus.

  • Sep 10, 2015 by BarryRay1964

    This is a little favorite BBQ shack I love to stop at when I'm in the area. Great BBQ, really... It's not like most over rated BBQ joints, this place really does serve great BBQ. The service is as good as it gets, they have a moderate menu so you will find something good to eat, all the sides are yummy as well. If your near by, try it out... You will return, I guarantee...

  • Sep 02, 2015 by prevere

    It ain't fancy, but your'e gonna need extra napkins. That's for sure! The meats are cooked out back and the sauces are home made. You will find a selection of BBQ delights that will set your mouth to watterin' while they put it on yer plate. You sure won't leave hungry, that's a certainty! Plus, there's a whole list of side dishes that you can choose from, there's salads and lots of other great BBQ accompaniments. How can you miss. They even have them wet wipes to clean yer face after you wallowed in that gooood sauce. Yum!

  • Aug 03, 2015 by Jennifer B.

    The food is fantastic here at The Sawmill BBQ. The brisket is so tender, you can cut it with a butter knife. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The place was busy and the staff kept up with pace. It is also very clean. This place deserves a visit.

  • Jul 31, 2015 by judysmith4317

    Great BBQ. The pork steak on Friday and Saturday is wonderful. Walking distance to Cahokia RV Parque.

  • Jul 02, 2015 by Tomas W.

    Great BBQ across the river from downtown, friendly staff and looks popular with locals as well, good brisket and pulls pork. The kids meal hamburger is huge, adult size.

  • Jun 30, 2015 by sunshine_deb

    This is a great little place, good BBQ, lots of choices for entrees and side dishes. Cold beer if you want one. I've been here for lunch several time. Its always good.

  • Jun 26, 2015 by PaulHobso

    BBQ type atmosphere; good food; ribs on Friday and Saturday nights only (go / reserve early to make sure you get some).

  • Jun 15, 2015 by 561shanc

    Server was kind and very helpful. Price was good. Food was great. Barbecue nachos and corn nuggets were enjoyable. Good atmosphere too.

  • Apr 16, 2015 by Photomedic430

    Did some work at the near by airport. I was talking with the pilots about a lunch place. They both said the Sawmill. It was a great stop. Friendly staff. Great food. Had the pulled pork sandwich and homemade chips. The chips are great. The pulled pork had a great bark and great taste.

  • Apr 08, 2015 by Charlene H

    Don't look for fancy-the name Saw Mill-identifies it's appearance-rustic, sawmill appearance. Order at the counter, the food is brought out when ready - Find a seat- I ordered the special for about $10.99 which was a slab of ribs, and two sides and two slices of lightly toasted French bread-for my sides- I got the sweet potato fries which were really good -and fried pickle - 3 dill pickle spears-lightly battered and fried...My companion ordered the pork shoulder sandwich which was juicy and tasty, with regular French fries (not too spectacular) and fried macaroni and cheese..which were rich and probably raised our cholesterol levels - Had enough left over for an tasty evening snack - The Cola is a local company from Breese, Illinois- Lucky Cola which was different from my usual brand of choice but good - The server check periodically is all was all right and for refills of cola- Quiet when we were there- definitely will -return...even though we have to come from Missouri-not a bad drive and near historical Cahokia

  • Jan 31, 2015 by Felix C.

    Service is excellent, the people are very friendly and warm. I had the Turkey breast plate and my sister had the pulled pork sandwich, the food was very good & plentiful. I currently own four Weber grills and a smoker, it's safe to say that I do my share of barbecuing. I am from Illinois and been all over enjoying BBQ. I'm not going to say that it's the best barbecue I've ever had but it was definitely very good. I like the feel of the place and the way it is set up (lots of character). I would definitely stop in again whenever I'm in the area. Hostess was extremely friendly.

  • Dec 03, 2014 by cincmap

    We've been longtime customers of Sawmill and around a week before Thanksgiving got their email offering a whole smoked turkey for $50. I love their turkey to start with and their pork loin is superb as well, so I couldn't pass this up. We picked up the turkey at 10 AM Thanksgiving day. We got it home, put it in the oven to warm until we ate at 2 PM. This turkey was unbelievable!! Smoked just right, moist and tasty, absolutely outstanding. It's the first Thanksgiving we've ever had where we had a complete turkey and when we sent the family home with leftovers, we had virtually none left for us!! I sincerely hope they make the same offer next year and for Christmas as well!!

  • Oct 31, 2014 by Banny9949

    Have been many times in the past but probably not for a good 6 months. Good as always and the most crowded I've ever seen it! Went for lunch on Friday but they did good job getting everyone served fast enough and friendly. For $10 each it was very filing and good bbq. Recommend the turkey or brisket.

  • Oct 28, 2014 by Misstazzie

    We were staying at the rv park and got a discount to the restaurant so we couldn't pass that up. Service was awesome we did a phone order and was ready in like 10 minutes. The brisket was superb as was the pulled pork. My boyfriend was over the moon about the corn fritters. Only complaint was for the price felt portions were a tad small we barely had 2 small slices of brisket about one bite each. But all in all food was really good.

  • Oct 16, 2014 by Desi T

    We were on a long....trust me on this one.....long cross country journey and checked into the Comfort Inn and Suites. April, the hotel manager recommended this one and said it was one of the best restaurants around. When we drove up, we could not even tell if it was open or not. It fronts a nice looking RV park, but there were no cars in the parking lot. Well, good fortune was with us because it was open and the waitress boasted that the brisket was their signature dish. We ordered the brisket all the way around and it was delicious. I had sampled the "Hot" sauce prior to the food arriving and was not too impressed, but found it to be a perfect compliment to the tasty briket. The portion was very generous and the sides I got - french fries and Baked beans, were both hot and tasty. The staff was friendly and attentive and would definitely recommend this to anyone with an appetitie for BBQ!

  • Oct 16, 2014 by AprilSJ

    Celebrating my daughters birthday we made 16 stops along St Louis and this happened to be one of them. They had a special half price deal on Groupon so we decided to try it out. This place was not hard to find and right off the main road. There is a place for campers right behind it but it did not affect the restaurant. The girls wanted to sit out on the screened in like porch. I'm glad we did it felt just like home, the service was awesome and we were greeted with a warm hello and smile as soon as we walked in.We tried barbecue,green beans,chicken tenders, homemade chips, baked beans, applesauce,and many other things. We liked that they had four different sauces they bring to your table for you to use, I think we all like the sweet sauce the best. The BBQ had a good smoke flavor to it. Our girls did not like the applesauce but we enjoyed everything else. We have several different people come around and asked if we needed anything and if everything was okay,GREAT service! We also enjoyed looking around at the way it was decorated with old timey outdoorsy sawmill things.

  • Sep 29, 2014 by Roberta V

    We were always hesitant to eat here and finally stopped in on the recommendation of someone else. I cannot tell you how many times we have been back. We have even used them for catering a birthday party. The beef brisket and pulled pork are my faves; love the large variety of sides. The service is great and the people are more than friendly. One of our favorite places to eat. Everyone should try this place!!!! Cost per person is about $8-10 and well worth it.

  • Sep 28, 2014 by Bernadette B.

    Coming from the city of Chicago and having my share of BBQ, this place has definitely the best I've tasted.  We visited last year during everyone's spring break.  I thought I finished this review but never did...lol!  They definitely deserve a shout out because we did visit them twice before we headed back home.  Hands down the best fried pickles we've tasted.  They also had BBQ nachos that were awesome sauce!!  If we are ever near Cahokia again, we will be there (-:

  • Sep 24, 2014 by David H

    My wife and I got ribs and the pulled pork take out here. Nice meaty ribs that come with out BBQ sauce you get your choice and put it on yourself. Even without the sauce the ribs were great, I'm not normally a ribs guy but these were very good. My wife had the pulled pork sandwich it had great flavor and the portions were generous.

  • Jul 11, 2014 by Phil M.

    First visit as I am an out of towner.  My fist BBQ joint in the area was Pappys which was outstanding. Came in at 2 pm only one other group here. The server was pleasant and checked on us regularly. Used a groupon and had no issues as some places are not always that easy to deal with. Ordered full slab of pork ribs with onion rings and slaw. Onion rings were great. Hot and not oily and seasoned well. Ribs were tender yet firm. Slaw was mayo based and good. There were three sauces and my favorite was hot. Now I can say this place was not in Pappys league but I thought it was better than many places I eat at in California for BBQ.

  • Jun 26, 2014 by pnkrkgrl85

    Cute little BBQ place in an area with very few non fast food options. I had the sliced brisket - quite tasty, nice smoke ring. Smoked turkey was a little on the dry side, but that's tough to avoid when you smoke poultry. Their baked beans were outstanding. The potato salad was oddly liquidy... not sure what that was about. Corn on the cob was mushy, like it was previously frozen.

  • Jun 08, 2014 by Diane J

    We were looking for local BBQ. The Sawmill was close to our hotel. More than enough to eat. Portions were huge! Rustic décor made you feel at ease in a country setting. The waitress was friendly and gave recommendations on what to order.

  • May 21, 2014 by Carrie L.

    Amazing barbecue. Cute, homey atmosphere. Amazing service! Let me say that again.... Amazing service. ! I ordered the brisket platter with the fried pickles and cold slaw. HUge amount of food! Quality of meat was exceptional. Sooooo worth the price. Tasty! And the fried pickles! Perfection. Spears insteads of chips! The light coating was crunchy as was the pickle. Highly recommend!

  • Apr 19, 2014 by Suzanne R.

    The service was great. The restaurant was decorated very cute . Very much in theme to what the restaurant was serving.   The BBQ was okay . I say this because the brisket was really dry . Taste very good but the dryness took away from the flavor. The sauces were fair, hot sauce had a mild heat , sweet had good flavor , mustard tasted just like yellow mustard :(.  The onion rings were good , my husband loved the mushrooms with horseradish . I did try my husbands pulled pork sandwich and it was really good .

  • Apr 09, 2014 by Michael M.

    This is one of my top bbq joints around town, its one of the closer ones to my house instead of going all the way downtown and they really have good BBQ! I went here for lunch and ended up getting a whole 3 meat combo with two sides and a sweet tea for about $20, I had a groupon so that was cool, I like that they give good deals! I got the smoked turkey, pulled pork, and ribs! gotta try the ribs everywhere I go.  They all come out dry with no sauce added first so you can pick between the 4 choices of sauces they had, which were, regular, sweet, hot, and a mustard.  My top choice of course is the sweet, and you can always add in a little regular or hot to it to make it not as sweet.  I tried the mustard but it wasn't one of my favorite mustard based bbq sauces and I typically enjoy them.  The turkey and pulled pork were both really good, and the meat was juicy and tender! as for the ribs they were pretty good, a little too dry for me and there wasn't much meat at all on the them, I ended up finishing them all without feeling stuffed (6 bones) so that was a little dissapointing , but they were overall a-ok! I would definitly come back and this wasn't my first time here so if you are in the area and want some good bbq stop on in at the sawmill, you won't regret it :)

  • Feb 23, 2014 by Kevin P.

    Clean establishment, very friendly service and well done interior. Unfortunately the BBQ seemed average. Everything else was done so well I was hoping for a bit more from the food. I will try it again...maybe I hit it on a bad day.....

  • Jan 14, 2014 by Jane F.

    Honesty, not sure why all the rave reviews. It's good and the servings are generous but I had the beef brisket plate with baked beans and wasnt really impressed. My wife had the nachos and they were surprisingly good...so I'd recommend them.the chairs were uncomfortable and I was ready to leave five minutes into my meal, but great service sounds.

  • Oct 03, 2013 by Ramona H

    I've been down to the sawmill a coupe of time really fine people and the BBQ is top notch it's a 100 mile ride each way but worth it.

  • Sep 21, 2013 by Jim B

    We were on a cross North America motorcycle trip and had planned to visit the arch in St Louis in the morning. We like to go to small independent places. So I came here to TripAdvisor and searched for a place to eat. We found the Sawmill and it had good reviews. So we went... One of the best places we have ever gone to.... We have gone to upscale snobby places and hole in the wall dives. Sawmill BBQ is in our top places in North America I have eaten at. Food was amazing, if you like BBQ and are in the area GO>>>> Staff was super, the owners wife came over to make sure everything was OK. We felt like family in a place we had know for years even though this was our first time in this area. Only problem is we live in Canada so its a little far to go for supper. The owners have created a place that serves great food, were you feel like you are welcome. It's homey not fancy. THANKS

  • Sep 13, 2013 by Sassy44273

    This is the best BBQ we have eaten. During two separate visits (August 2013/September 2013) we had pork lion, ribs, pulled pork, turkey breast, chicken and brisket. Each entree was cooked to perfection. All entrees are served without sauce so you can chooses your own. Having asthma it is difficult for me to find a BBQ meal that does not trigger an attack. The restaurant is small ; well maintained. On our first visit the staff provided excellent services. Our second visit the 'petite gal' in the kitchen was a little snooty, and the cashier was new(?) as she made numerous mistakes on taking the order. We had dinner, purchased additional items for our trip the next morning. Meats purchased for travel the next day were excellent. NOTE** to get there early. On our first visit we arrived at 6:30; they were sold out of quite a few items. The side dishes are just okay. Pricing is very reasonable. If you are a local resident or traveling through try a meal at this restaurant.

  • Jul 19, 2013 by Alex L.

    Amazing. We ate here for dinner and for breakfast. The breakfast is incredible. All you can eat buffet with thick bacon and the best French toast and syrup. Excellent tea too. The nachos were definitely the star of our dinner. They sound weird but are sooo good. The ribs excellent, and you can see thick smoke rings on everything. Whoever gave this a 1 star is crazy.

  • Jul 18, 2013 by JanaJE

    We tried delivery from this restaurant based on the good reviews it received on TripAdvisor. Choices in Cahokia seem pretty limited, so we were excited to see good reviews for a non-chain restaurant in the area. We were sold when we learned they could deliver to our hotel. We tried the pulled pork, beef brisket and the turkey and we were impressed with all the smoked meats. My husband loved the potato salad and I thought the baked beans were as good as any I've had. I also enjoyed the sweet potato fries, but all of the fried foods (especially the homemade chips) are a little heavy. Great flavor, truly enjoyable - but not diet food! The assortment of spicy, mild and mustard BBQ sauces that we received were also really good. The person who took the order was helpful and friendly, the delivery arrived in a reasonable time and the prices were fair. If you like BBQ and you need some lunch or dinner near Cahokia, IL, the Sawmill is a good choice. We'll be back next time we are in the area.

  • Jul 18, 2013 by Martyinstl

    Great food, prices and staff. I have driven by this place for years and always thought that given its location (rv campground) that it couldn't be that good. Boy was I wrong. I had several friends rave about the food and how good it was. We decided to give it a try and everything we ordered was fantastic. My son got BBQ nacho's and loved it. My wife and I both ordered combo plates so we could try each others. The brisket, turkey and pulled pork was top notch. The sides were great also. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Jun 22, 2013 by jj1342

    this is a great bbq restaurant! you have to get there early though because once they are out they are out. we found that out our first time eating there but what we had was very good anyways and the last time we went we got what we wanted :)

  • Jun 05, 2013 by luvtotravel089

    We passed this restaurant on our way into Cahokia to visit the vertical log courthouse and church. As we were starved by the time we finished our tour we asked the tour guide about this place, and he said the brisket was fantastic. He wasn't lying (or even exaggerating)--the brisket was awesome, as were the sides we ordered (beans were amazing). Too bad we don't live closer or we'd eat here at least once a week.

  • May 13, 2013 by magnifiedplaid

    I was in Cahokia for training for a couple of days and this was pretty close to our facility. First off, it's a BBQ place in a trailor park. Pretty good sign. The food was good....recommend the turkey breast with baked beans. Workers were friendly and the prices were about average. Very good for the crap hole that is Cahokia.

  • May 04, 2013 by Mark B

    Really enjoy their ribs and pork steaks. Great service attitude by everyone! Great atmosphere. A fun place with great food!

  • Mar 04, 2013 by TTTStLou

    The pitmaster here knows his way around the competitive BBQ landscape, from what I understand. He was conscientious enough that he brought out a couple of extra ribs on my first visit because he felt the cuts he gave me weren't good enough. I don't recommend coming here after dark, although I guess it's probably safe - some of the surrounding areas are rough. Prices are reasonable and everything we tried was at least good. Probably 3.5 stars, rounded up.

  • Feb 21, 2013 by Dave W

    I drove past this place for quite some time. I thought "BBQ in a trailer park?". When I decided to give up fast food for the most part, your options in the Cahokia area are slim. I decided to stop in one day, and I have been hooked since. Everything I have tried is outstanding. If you like salads get the sawmill salad with or without meat(its HUGE). Their homemade house dressing is a BBQ vinagrette...its delicious. The pulled pork is tender and moist. RIbs are excellent(although I think I could give them a run for the money). You walk in and order at a counter, and they bring the food to your table. They have 3 homemade sauces...hot, sweet, and a mustard based sauce. Great for taking out customers to.

  • Feb 01, 2013 by Yomommasdaddy

    The only good spot to eat in Cahokia/Sauget. Very good brisket and friendly service make it a worthwhile trip to the trailer park that it sits in (really).

  • Jan 14, 2013 by CesarSarz

    I'm not a ribs fan but i think i tryed the best ribs of my live, i went to St Louis for bussiness and i visited Sawmill Bbq four times. Excellent price, best quality. Recommended 100%.

  • Jan 06, 2013 by kevinpalmer

    Visiting from Chicago and had their Groupon and boy was it worth it. There were five of us and we got four full platters and drinks for four and it fed us all with leftovers. Their pork loin, turkey and pulled pork is great. Check this place out!

  • Jan 05, 2013 by Banny9949

    Very good food and at a very reasonable price! We both had the two meat combo plates for $10.49 and could barely finish our meals. The restaurant is like an old rundown looking shed which is actually pretty cool and authentic. Kind of like eating at a totally different kind of place. Only five minutes from downtown St Louis and plenty of parking, plus easy to find. Was my 2nd time going and will return. We drivefrom South County to eat there.

  • Dec 10, 2012 by 2015BeachBound

    On 12/7/2012 my family came upon this restaurant on one of our family outings. I was a little hesitant when we pulled up because the building is nothing fancy. (My son even questioned if that is where we were going to eat.) Don't let the building fool you. The menu is on a chalkboard when you walk in and then you order at the register. The food is brought to your table rather promptly. The servings were enormous and the quality was excellent. I had the beef brisket sandwich and it was loaded with beef on a very soft and tasty roll. You can select from a variety of sides to go with your meal. I chose homemade potato chips...which were to die for! The applesauce was chunky and fresh. There were also baked beans, greenbeans, potato salad and fries but I am not sure about these since I did not have them. If you are ever in the Cahokia area, give this place a try. The service was friendly and the food superb! (One last thing....the bathroom is in another building across the parking lot. That was a little strange!)

  • Dec 03, 2012 by ROBnMO

    We bought a Groupon for this restaurant during a recent trip to the STL area, and we sure are glad we did! My family (of 5) dined here and got to sample a lot of the different meats that were available - all of them were good! Nice smoky flavor, and I liked the sauces (they have a sweet and a hot). We had everything BUT the ribs (meat-wise) and I especially liked the pork loin and brisket. Favorite side is the baked beans. The staff, though small, was excellent - very friendly! Good place to eat, and it's not too pricey. Look for a Groupon deal, and it's even better!

  • Nov 13, 2012 by Lisa A

    I work in the area and this is a favorite lunch spot for us. I have never had a bad meal here. The sweet potato fries and green beans are my favorite sides. The sliced french bread is a perfect complement to the pulled pork or beef platter. Even their salads are great! They use "real" lettuce; you know, the green stuff, not the tasteless iceberg stuff. The proportions are more than enough as I almost always make two meals out of one. The service is excellent, too! I don't know where Otis D went...

  • Oct 23, 2012 by trkrumm

    This is a good bbq place. I've been here many time and can recommend it for lunch. Try the BBQ nachos if you are with someone who you can split it with.

  • Oct 08, 2012 by Ronda H.

    Friendly staff and the food is pretty good! A bit pricey! LOVE the applesauce! Highly recommend the brisket! Its the one meat item that is good all the time! The chicken is always undercooked every time ive tried it so id stay away from that! Ribs can be a hit or miss! Otherwise carry on!

  • Aug 03, 2012 by Kelly G

    My first (of many to come) visit was AWESOME- The sauces are RIGHT ON!!! It's a perfect restaurant for the area - Great for RV travelers, as it's right in the campground of Cahokia, IL - Close to St. Louis!!!!!! This is a joint that Guy Feier from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives must DEFINATELY visit...

  • Jul 31, 2012 by Jess R

    This was my first time dining at Sawmill BBQ. I can't say enough about this place! The building is unique, the food is delicious (especially the homemade potato chips), the prices are cheap, the service was excellent and our food came out quickly even during their lunch rush. I can't wait to have lunch here again!

  • Jul 27, 2012 by joerichter82

    I have been here twice now and its definitely not my last! When you walk into the door the smell of sweet bbq will instantly make you hungry! The menu ranges from pork, chicken and ribs to even a fried bologna sandwich! The building has great character...indoor/outdoor seating...and is very clean! You've got to see this place..words cannot describe! The staff is always top notch! They will bend over backwards to make sure your experience is a great one! Go in and ask for Kyle...he's a great down to earth guy and loves to talk about food!!!

  • Jul 11, 2012 by bloomingtongirl2

    This is a small, inconspicuous restaurant with great service and even better food. I ordered the Pork Tenderloin sandwich with homemade chips and a small salad. The BBQ vinaigrette is a nicely balanced vinaigrette with a distinctive BBQ flavor, very tasty! My husband ordered the BBQ brisket platter. It was easily the best brisket we've had in a very long time. The restaurant is attractive in a down-home decor style, the food was promptly served and the having the sauces on the table made it easy to switch between the two or mix them. I would also recommend the local sodas. All together the meal was about $28.00.

  • Jul 04, 2012 by mrcrafty

    Nothing to dislike. Affordable, giant portions, located at Cahokia RV Parque, simple and clean, and the food tastes great. They make their own BBQ sauce and is it yummy.

  • Jun 28, 2012 by Nancy F.

    Friendly service and delicious food.  We had the St Louis specialty, barbecued pork steak.  Since we never had it before, we cannot say whether it is "right", but we are sure that it was delicious.  Loved the corn nuggets, too.  And the homemade potato chips were fresh, crisp, and abundant.  We arrived two minutes before closing, so they were out of the sweet potato fries, so we are betting those would have been great, too. A little out of the way, but worth the trip.  It was only about a 15 minute drive from the south side of St. Louis near Jefferson Barracks.

  • Jun 26, 2012 by Ricky S

    I will admit that I'm partial to Texas Beef Brisket, but Sawmill BBQ gives the entire state of Texas a run for the money. In fact, Sawmill's Beef Brisket and homemade sauces easily crushes anything in any other state!!! Will the folks at Man versus Food PLEASE give this place a visit!

  • Jun 26, 2012 by Ken L.

    I love this place.  I've been there a dozen times over the last year and have tried many menu items and everything is always great.  Very friendly staff.

  • Jun 04, 2012 by Chris T.

    Great atmosphere and off the beaten path.  Ordered a pulled pork and it was nice size and very tasty. Would definitely go back.

  • May 07, 2012 by Sam Y.

    Monday lunch Service was nice. Inside looked like an old "sawmill" with old farm equipment on walls and ceiling. Lots of wood. Just from the looks of the place my expectations went up. Ribs -good smokey flavor, tender, cut for you. Turkey, brisket, pork - all kinda bland and dry, nothing memorable.       Smothered them in the two sauces on table. The sides of green beans, potato salad, baked beans, and cole slaw tasted all prepackaged. Ok but not home made Hot and sweet sauces - both were very good. Hot was spicy but not overwhelming the sweet had hint of pepper. Go for the ribs.

  • Mar 14, 2012 by JChristopher

    Saw Mill barbeque was recommended by a friend. Glad I went. Excellent pulled pork barbeque sandwich. Got to go back and try some of the other barbeque

  • Jan 05, 2012 by CountryMomx2

    Great bbq done with a dry rub. We are a family of 4 and ate at a very reasonable price. We found this restaurant by accident thumbing thru a phone book in our hotel room and boy am I glad we found it. We will definitely go back every time we visit the St. Louis area!

  • Dec 01, 2011 by MarkH824

    I've been driving by this place for a long time and based on a recommendation from a friend decided to try it. The pulled pork was excellent - very lean and plentiful. The slaw and the sweet potato fries were great - and the baked beans are some of the best I've ever had. This is my new favorite place to grab some BBQ!

  • Aug 06, 2011 by Dave W.

    I drove past this place for quite a while. It is at the entrance of a RV park, which always deterred me. I quit eating fast food, unless there is no other option. Cahokia has nothing but fast food for the most part. I finally gave it a try, what a hit! This place is better than Bandana's and Pappy's(which did not impress me). The baked beans are delicious. Pulled pork has just the right amount of smoke, and is still moist. The staff is extremely nice and they run all over refilling drinks.

  • Jun 22, 2011 by Rbusse

    Great food Awesome value Super Find! It's a no frill place that offers great BBQ. The pulled pork platter is tender and tasty. You choose your sauce! Yummy!

  • Apr 20, 2011 by Chelli F.

    I recently tried this place and loved it!  It's very casual and not too far from downtown St. Louis.  I was there from South St. Louis in 18 minutes.   I had the ribs and BBQ pork with sweet potatoe fries and slaw on the side.  The sides were great which makes this a very well rounded place in my opinion.  I love Pappy's but I think this place is better since the meat is just as good as Pappy's but the sides are MUCH better so you get a great overall experience with the food.  Plus, there is not a line out the door like at Pappy's.  The portions are big and the buns are toasted to perfection. It's counter service and both times we visited, the service was friendly. The sweet tea is mmmm mmmm good! I'll go back for sure!

  • Apr 18, 2011 by Tom J.

    Sawmill is kind of a quintessential BBQ joint.   The ambience here is just about perfect, with screened in "porch" corrugated tin walls, lots of antique items around the walls (even an antique iron holding the RFT's down just outside the door.  By appearance, it's not more than a couple of years old and they really did a good job of suiting the décor to the food.  I was kind of expecting an old run-down shack with screen doors falling off hinges and flys buzzing around, so I was pleasantly surprised.   It sits in the front of a pretty nice RV park that I didn't know existed.  Then again, Cahokia AIN'T my stompin' grounds. This is clearly a family-owned place.  We went for a Saturday lunch and arrived before noon.  It's counter service, then they bring the food out to you.  Prices are pretty standard, in fact, they are almost exactly the same as Pappy's, which was kind of surprising, since Cahokia is way way way below Midtown if we're ranking trendiness.   Way. Apologies to the mayor of Cahokia. If you're a BBQ fan, I think you'll like it.  We had pulled pork and ribs, with sweet potato fries, cole slaw, green beans and fried pickles as sides.   The sides menu had some tough choices, including homemade chips, corn nuggets and mac and cheese bites.  Not sure what those last two were, but there is definitely some creativity in the kitchen.  They use a very generous amount of rub on the ribs and it was tasty, although pretty salty.  If you have high blood pressure, you will definitely want to give the ribs a pass.  The ribs I was served were not too meaty, so the rub overwhelmed the meat.  They were also quite smoky, so you may or may not have a preference (I preferred a little less).   Here's the thing, though:  A guy I presume was the dad/owner/pitmaster brought us three ribs of much higher quality because he said he felt bad about sending those ribs out.  That was pretty nice, since they really weren't that bad - certainly too good to throw out.   The pulled pork was excellent.   The menu also included brisket, turkey, chicken, pork steaks (weekends only), brats, salads, nachos...pretty big.  We'll definitely be back to try a few of these.  This would be a great stop before a Grizzlies game.  Cahhokia is not our stompin' grounds, like I said, but we'll definitely come over to Sawmill to stomp again.

  • Apr 04, 2011 by Reenactress

    We dashed from the airport in a snowstorm to get here before they closed. It was easy to find, parking good. Got there a half hour before they closed after a busy night, so all they had left was pulled pork. So we had sandwiches of that. Very good. Nice choice of sauces at the table, sweet, hot, etc. Best green beans I have ever eaten. OK, I know it's weird to write up green bean but they were good. Potato salad very nice. No desserts offered. It was good food, friendly service. Very low key country type atmosphere, wood on wood.

  • Sep 11, 2010 by Taufiq H.

    Not as cheap as advertised but good food and worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Jun 27, 2010 by ukgrad89

    I've been around the country and had some of the best BBQ in the country, and I'd rank this place up there among the best. Don't let the east side location scare you off, this is a well-run, clean restaurant with a really good menu. Generous portions, excellent sides, great quality meat. Give this place a try--you won't be disappointed.

  • Jun 15, 2010 by Brianne C.

    After a lovely morning at the Botanical Gardens, we decided to cross the Missouri State Line for some pulled pork, beef brisket, and smoked turkey at Sawmill BBQ. Pulling into a small gravel parking lot behind the cute clapboard structure, we became ravenous as we caught the aroma of caramelized smoke rolling from the side porch where the meats were being prepared. We piled in the door and quickly examined the bright chalkboard, finally choosing pulled pork sandwiches, a combo platter, corn fritters, baked beans, sweet potato fries, mac and cheese fritters, and tall glasses of sweet tea. We opted for seating on the screened porch, and sampled the sauces on the table. There were three house sauces available for drenching our smoked goodies: a sweet sauce redolent of sage and black pepper, a hot sauce with a sweet vinegary bite, and a mustardy yellow sauce. Based on the selection of sauces, we contemplated the idea that Sawmill was a crossroads barbecue place, with Carolina, Memphis, and Kansas City influences clearly clamoring for space at the table. We preferred the hot sauce, as the sweet sauce's flavors were unbalanced, the burnt floral flavors of the sage too pronounced. Our baskets were soon brought to the table, and we savored the chewy black edges of the pulled pork penetrated with smoke, the tender beef brisket, and the turkey breast, also enjoying the pillowy crunch of the fries and the sweetness of the corn fritters. The spunky ladies who took our order continually filled our glasses with strongly brewed sweet tea, and their genuine kindness alone would be enough to make us visit again. Too bad the beer didn't also come with free refills! The porch leant itself to lingering, with its comfortable bar chairs and light breezes. While Sawmill did not serve the best barbecue I have ever tasted, they provided a filling, comforting lunch in a casual, congenial setting. Thanks to everyone for making our smoked visit memorable.

  • May 15, 2010 by Tanya M.

    the food is good. a bit pricey, about like going to Bandana's. i live in the area and think is good when i don't feel like going far. the bbq nachos are the best. huge lunch crowd. slows down for dinner.

  • Apr 27, 2010 by Sam R.

    Spectacular flavor at awesome prices!  Environment's not super impressive, but if you're looking for an awesome & quick meal, they've got it!

  • Jan 04, 2010 by LanaHere

    We accidentally found this place 3 days ago. We were driving back to the highway from Cahokia, and I noticed the sign said BBQ. I turned the car around and it was history. The best BBQ that I had ever ate. My children kept saying: "It's so good mommy. So good." Being our first visit, I'm thinking, okay, I"ll order just enough for each of us to sample. So I ordered a full slab of baby back rib with 2 sides. It was only $17.99. To my surprise, the meal was enough to feed all 3 of us. So much meat, and the sides were served in generous portions. I told the employees that I'll be back. And I will, today! I'm going to call to see if they're open on Monday. Would I recommend this restaurant to a friend? I already did!

  • Nov 05, 2009 by icemakerking

    Here is their secret, simple menu with great service. That means they can spend the correct amount of time smoking and preparing the meat the way it should be. No fufu stuff. Just meat and sides. The also have a kids menu. The sweet tea is fabulous as well. I'm sitting here writing this review while I am eating my leftovers the next day at work. It is wonderful! Thank you Sawmill BBQ, Ryan & Beth

  • Oct 28, 2009 by emg128

    This restaurant is located in Cahokia, IL (short drive from St. Louis). We were hesitant to stop as the restaurant sits right on a camp ground. We are so glad that we did!! This BBQ is the best that we have had locally and the service was great too!! We will be back!!

  • Jan 16, 2009 by ILOVEBBQ

    Ive had the chance to try a lot of BBQ in my days and this is at the top of my short list of great BBQ restaurants. The ribs are outstanding and the pulled pork is too! I cant wait to go back for the brisket, the couple sitting next to me had it and they just went on and on about it.