Highland Painting & Construction Company

Highland Painting & Construction Company

207 Elmwood Lane
Williamsburg VA 23188
757-570-2120

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Highland Painting & Construction Company has had a long history of satisfying customers with reliable, high-quality painting and renovating services at an affordable rate.

Williamsburg, Virginia area

Read thru our reviews of satisfied clients

Online Profiles
  • Facebook
  • Google My Business
  • HomeAdvisor
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • May 06, 2020 by Margaret C.

    Great work for a great price. Easy company to work with.

  • Feb 21, 2020 by Rodney B.

    Looking for wallpaper removal led us to Highland Painting & Construction. Stan McGinnis, the owner has a process to prepare the wallpapered walls (even with peeling paper) for painting. Then, after painting the 3 rooms, the walls are completely smooth and beautiful! We were so pleased, we had his painters, Bryan and Carson, paint the entire interior of our home (12 rooms) including the basement and garage concrete floors. The work ethic of the painters and their results were A+. It was a pleasure to work with Stan, his pricing was fair and he took pains to assure proper preparation and appropriate paints were used to assure our satisfaction. StanMcGinnis and his painters are strongly recommended!!!

  • Nov 16, 2019 by Catherine W.

    The job was completed as proposed in a timely manner. They were not messy or noisy. The results are amazing. We have hired them for two different projects & plan on using them for our third project. We would highly recommend Highland Painters!

  • Aug 30, 2019 by Dylan V.

    I have nothing to report

  • Aug 28, 2019 by Russell S.

  • Aug 21, 2019 by Diane D.

    Two weeks after I moved into my new house it flooded. I found Highland Painting and Construction on Home Advisor and I couldn't be more happy and pleased. Stan was great to work with. He was always friendly, honest and knowledgeable. Bryan and Karsin's work was exemplary. They were always punctual, hard-working and friendly. I was able to leave the house while they worked and never worried. Stan and his team checked with me throughout the project to make sure I was happy. I am thrilled with their work and the end result! I highly recommend Highland Painting and Construction.

  • Aug 13, 2019 by Colston Stewart

    Love the work, very honest and kept me updated through the whole process. I would definetly use again.

  • Jul 20, 2019 by Tom C.

    Stan and his crew did excellent work. We were able to leave the house without hesitation while they were working as we felt comfortable with their honesty. I highly recommend them to anyone !

  • Jun 25, 2019 by Lee Hall, VA

    Highland Painting was a tremendous help in getting my house ready to sell. I plan to use them for future work.

    Claudia

  • Jun 17, 2019 by Katherine L.

    Stan and his crew, Carson and Brian, did an awesome job in my home. Had the entire interior repainted and they were meticulous and very accommodating. Once job began, they were punctual and very hard-working. Best paint job I've ever had and I would definitely recommend them to anyone. Very reasonable pricing. I would hire again for any painting needs I have.

  • Apr 22, 2019 by Thomas M.

    Carson, Bryan and Jessie were the painters from Highland Painting who came to our home. Stan McGinnis, the owner, was there to finish up the team. This was the second time they painted our home and the outstanding job they did the first time  was repeated once again. It is not only the outstanding work they do it is the way they go about it. Making it as easy on the home owners is their goal one which they attain. Thom and Pat

  • Apr 09, 2019 by Tim Jacks

    Stan and his team at Highland Painting are great to work with and are efficient and take care of the home during the entire painting process. Stan helped my wife and I on the color suggestions for the rooms and areas we were having painted and we trusted him and were glad for it. Extremely happy with the results. His pricing is reasonable as well and his attitude is easy to work with. thanks Stan

  • Mar 04, 2019 by Cindy Borrelli

    Stan and his crew did an awesome job. His team over delivered my expectations. Stan offered some suggestions that would help me out and I knew I could really trust him

  • Mar 02, 2019 by Thomas M.

    I have already recommended them to friends. I plan to use them again shortly. Better than I ever expected. Fairest price I found.

  • Feb 14, 2019 by Connie H.

    We have had the crew with us for a little over a week. Five rooms and four paint colors were used.  Stan McGinnis very helpful and had patience with  my ideas for project. Sixteen years of no painting trim and walls  were rough.  Our crew, Carson,Bryan,Jesse, were courtesy, helpful with my questions on how products are used. Thank yous to them. Planning my colors was helped by using the Sherman William's  color app and as suggested I purchased  the half pint jar paint samples.  Over all the experience was so pleasant, my "getter done myself"  needed help and well worth it. Connie & Don Hand

  • Jan 30, 2019 by Thomas Mooney

    Stan said a lot of things; they exceeded what ever I thought the final product was going to be. He and his people are first class. Their first goal was to make the home disruption as easy on us possible. They succeeded more than you can imagine. There work sets a bar for others to aspire to. I have already told them I have additional work to be done. You will not be disappointed when you use this company.

  • Jan 24, 2019 by Rachel West

    Stan and his team are so great to work with--very kind and funny. I was in need of painting for my new home, and they not only came in much lower than other estimates, they went above and beyond to ensure I was pleased with the work. Very happy with the results, the lines are straight and clean and they were able to refresh the ceilings from previous paint jobs without needing to paint the whole thing. Highly recommend.

  • Jan 14, 2019 by Sara R.

    Stan and his crew were very professional and sincerely took pride in a job well done. We had them paint our entire downstairs, foyer, stairway, upstairs hall and 1 bedroom.  They were even willing to come a couple weeks early before the holidays to get the baby's room done!  Although we did verbally discuss touching up the trim as needed,  it was not outlined in the contract.  Yet Stan agreed to have his crew come out an additional morning to finish trim touch-ups for no additional charge.  We are very happy with the final result and will hire them again for future jobs.

  • Jan 11, 2019 by Jennifer Borders

    Stan and his crew have done extensive painting and fix-up work on our home in Newport News. As a military family trying to manage our home with renters from afar is a challenge. Stan has gone above and beyond to help us from a distance turn our house over from the previous renters. The work is top notch, with fair and honest pricing, as well as, sound advise on how to move forward with flipping the property. Don't hesitate to hire Stan and his crew. We are beyond satisfied with his work!!!

  • Jan 03, 2019 by Karsin Paden

    I bought a modular home that needed renovation. I completed most of the repairs which left interior painting. I decided to use Highland Painting and Construction. They arrived ready to work on the agreed day and time. The painters were courteous and professional throughout the project.

  • Nov 01, 2018 by Robbin P.

    I had a wonderful experience with Highland, the owner Stan is a great guy, he's honest, funny, and just a pleasure to work with. His painters were the most professional people I've ever had in my home. Carson, Jessie, and Brian were the nicest, guys you would ever meet not to mention awesome painters. What I really like is Stan DOESN'T CONTRACT HIS WORK OUT!! I can say without a doubt I will never use anyone other than Highland.

  • Oct 15, 2018 by Warren

    GREAT COMPANY! EAS TO WORK WITH STAFF!

  • Oct 15, 2018 by John G

    Excellent work and a profession team. Cleaned up each day. I would recommend Highland Painting

  • Sep 24, 2018 by Jennifer S.

    Stan and Carson went above and beyond to completely transform the look of my two-story foyer, stairway and upstairs hallway! They were punctional, professional and easy to work with every step of the way. I also appreciated their ability to make small repairs as well. I highly recommend Highland Painting and will definitely hire them in the future.

  • Sep 08, 2018 by Christal McMillan Paden
    Recommended:

    Very professional, excellent work!! I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful, professional facelift to your home.

  • Aug 26, 2018 by Lisa L.

    Stan McGinnis and his crew were very easy to work with. They arrived on time, did an excellent job painting. They were efficient and neat. They answered all of our questions, and always got back to us in a timely manner. We would recommend and use Highland Painting and Construction again.

  • Apr 24, 2018 by Donna

    Stan communicates well and finished earlier than expected with a professional and great looking job!

  • Apr 18, 2018 by Kevin D

    The highland team was very professional and friendly. Painted the first floor and completed the project in 2 days. Just in time for our holiday party. Thank you

  • Apr 15, 2018 by Lucinda F.

    Highland Painting and Construction did excellent work. The painters arrived early each day and did a professional job. Stan, the owner, was attentive and conscientious, delivering what he promised at a fair price.

  • Feb 09, 2018 by Bill M.

    Stan McGinnis from Highland Painting and Construction were exceptional. Stan arrived on time to provide a whole house estimate and answered all questions politely and professionally. The estimate arrived the next day as promised. It was fair, thorough and reflected all the details we had discussed earlier. Stan is VERY communicative and places the customer first at all times. He and his painting crew arrived to paint on the day he promised, even though there was a snow storm. In fact, he showed up every day that week despite the horrific road conditions. He completed the job on time and with exceptional results. All rooms to include ceilings, walls, trim and cabinets were painted. In fact, he even did things outside the scope of the work contract, because they were necessary and would enhance the overall result. He did so at no charge. Stan's mantra is "anything for the customer." It is refreshing to see a pro who can make you feel good and comfortable about the entire process. I highly recommend Stan. WJM, Williamsburg

  • Jan 12, 2018 by Amanda S

    Very professional and friendly team. Called and set up an appointment the same day. The quote was reasonable and the project started and completed on time. Thank you!

  • Jul 12, 2017 by Tom V.

    Stan is a great guy to work with. He's experienced and fulfills his commitments. He's a man of integrity.

  • Jun 03, 2017 by TERRY OQUINN

    BEING A BUSINESS PERSON MYSELF I WAS VERY HUMBLED WITH MR MCGINNIS HE WAS VERY TIMELY AND DID EXCELLANT JOB ON MY CONDO I WOULD DEFINITLY USE HIM AGAIN AND SOLELY APPRECIATED WHAT A GOOD JOB HE DID

  • May 28, 2017 by Gina

    This is the second job I hired Stan for. Stan is a professional. His work is quality work but more importantly your satisfaction is his main concern. I highly recommend Highland Painting and I will definitely continue to hire them in the future.

  • May 24, 2017 by James Mason

    This Company is AMAZING!!!!! I have been so impressed with all the work that they have done with renovating my house. The attention to detail, the professionalism, and the ease of working with Stan has been exceptional. Without any hesitation, STRONGLY recommend to use them!!!!!!!

  • May 24, 2017 by james mason

    This Company is AMAZING!!!!! I have been so impressed with all the work that they have done with renovating my house. The attention to detail, the professionalism, and the ease of working with Stan has been exceptional. Without any hesitation, STRONGLY recommend to use them!!!!!!!

  • Apr 16, 2017 by a homeowner

    excellent communication

  • Apr 05, 2017 by Leann Z.

    Friendly, professional, expert work with real attention to detail. Very accommodating, very hard-working. These guys completed renewed my kitchen cabinets and walls and I couldn't be happier. Darin is an expert painter who worked fast and precisely. Very reasonable cost. Jewel of a company. Stan, the owner, is super-nice and knows what he's doing. Great job!!! Restored my faith in contractors.

  • Mar 10, 2017 by Anthony C.

    very professional, great value for the money, excellent customer service.

  • Mar 09, 2017 by a homeowner

    Very professional! Excellent customer service and great value for the money. They took their time and did everything right. They did everything I asked and more. great suggestions for a better then envisioned finished product! Would definitely hire again!

  • Jan 27, 2017 by Kristen E.

    They filled holes and painted my garage. Fast and friendly.

  • Jan 27, 2017 by Alfred P.

    Very happy !!!

  • Nov 20, 2016 by James M.

    Before hiring James River Painting, I of course had several bids on the painting project. Soooo glad I went with stan and crew at James river!!!!! You could get cheaper, but Stan is amazing and goes the extra steps to make things right! Amazing value for the money and the incredible work!! I have heard about other painters painting over slightly rotten wood and just doing their hired task and getting on to the next customer. This company i cannot say enough good things about. Even gave me advise on some of the other projects I have going on!!! Want proof of what a good job they do? Contact me and look at my house!! By far, amazing team!!!

  • Sep 04, 2016 by Pat H.

    Loved working with Stan. Answered all my questions. Had 5 rooms painted, 3 that needed wall repairs Made suggestions and was very honest about what really needed done and what was in good condition the way it was. Would have him back to do other projects for me.

  • Aug 09, 2016 by Joffre P.

    They did a excellent job of replacing the wood rot and power washing before painting. Deck sealing is delayed due to rain. would highly recommend this contractor and use them again for other projects.

  • Jul 27, 2016 by Deborah C.

    Very customer focused!

  • Mar 03, 2016 by Jennifer G.

    The fence front and back is beautiful, all my neighbors want a fence done. I would use them again.

  • Nov 09, 2015 by a homeowner

    Replaced front porch railing. Excellent job. Finished quickly. Would recommend.

  • Oct 03, 2015 by Rocco L.

    This is a great company. Very reasonably priced and they did a great job on my fence. The main reason I choose this company was out of the 3 I contacted they were the only ones to come to my house and see what I wanted. Stan and Eric were able to deal with multiple difficult situations that arose on the project. The situations could have turned this project into a nightmare but with grace and humor the crew over came. Stan is great at communicating and ensuring that our vision came true. Stans crew is detail oriented, polite and professional. It was great to work with them on our project and I would recommend them without hesitation for more projects.

  • Sep 27, 2015 by Gina K.

    Stan did a great job. He was very thorough, he was very timely and I was very pleased with the work. I will definitely call Stan in the future.

  • Aug 08, 2015 by Edward M.

    Easy to work with. Very good communication. Excellent work. Good staff working with him. we were very pleased and I would highly recommend

  • May 27, 2015 by Shelly F.

    Stan McGinnis the owner of jamesriverpainting is not only hands on he makes a point to put a piece of himself in every job big or small.His staff are seasoned professionals that take pride in everything they do. I couldn't believe the extra little touches that to him were common practice and just part of the job. But with other companies these were extra. I am so happy with his work I can't wait to start a new project. Shelly Ford Hampton Va.

  • Apr 19, 2015 by Heather C.

    Very easy to work with , timely and detail oriented.

  • Mar 28, 2015 by Ethel B.

    Heisaverycompassionateperson.he is willing to work with you.

  • Mar 14, 2015 by a homeowner

    Fast, courteous, professional.

  • Dec 22, 2014 by Charles W.

    Outstanding job, came over on Monday gave me an estimate and I went with them. They were done Tuesday and did a superior job. Best in the business. Thanks...Will use again.

  • Dec 20, 2014 by Ray R.

    Professional and courteous.

  • Jul 28, 2012 by Clinton F.

    After shopping around for a company to repair my fence and gate, I chose James River Painting and Handyman Services because of the overall price to get the job done. Stan did a great job on my fence and gate. He had to leave and come back a few times because he didn't have the proper tools, but overall, he met my expectations. Also, he provides a two-year warranty on all work performed.

  • Jul 03, 2012 by Raven B.

    extremely please with the quality of work

  • Feb 02, 2012 by James E.

    Arrived the same day I was contacted and completed the project that day.

  • Dec 08, 2011 by Joe D.

    they did a good job.

  • Oct 25, 2011 by Dawn M.

    The contractor came by and gave an estimate. I accepted and job was completed as promised. Thanks

  • Jul 10, 2011 by a homeowner

    Extremely conscientious. Dependable. Neat and tidy. Excellent workmanship. The best.

  • Mar 04, 2011 by Archie R.

  • Feb 12, 2011 by Christopher M.

    Company did a fantastic job cleaning and removing the leaves. Would definitely hire this company again and would refer them to others.

  • Feb 04, 2011 by Bell P.

    they did an excellent job in reparing my kitchen after a grease fire. they were polite and very profrssional thanks again for recomennding this company to me

  • Nov 11, 2010 by Nancy C.

    He is fabulous, did a lot of great work for me. He put in a new things, fix the garage door, installed the outlet gsi pug. He put in new things in the bathroom, did painting, lights, power washing. He has just taken care of me. I am so pleased with him, he really cares about his work. He is a very modest caring person. He is the only one I will use, is an outstanding individual.