La Lechonera Restaurant

La Lechonera Restaurant

342 Cummins Highway
Boston MA 02131
617-323-0311

Hours:
Mon: 9:30am - 6:30pm
Tue: 9:30am - 6:30pm
Wed: 9:30am - 6:30pm
Thu: 9:30am - 6:30pm
Fri: 9:30am - 6:30pm
Sat: 9:30am - 6:30pm

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

La Lechonera Cafe Reviews

Best traditional Latin American & Puerto Rican dishes in Boston, MA

Restaurant located in Roslindale, takeout, delivery and in-house dining 

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • Jun 24, 2021 by Nina Feliciano

    This place has come up. Great food, awesome prices, and rich personalities that work there!!! Great if you like fritura and fast finger foods.

  • Jun 01, 2021 by Edualyn Lopez

    I just ate here with my mom on Saturday the food was good I got white rice and beans with bistec with onions and I loved everything next time I will try something else .

  • May 15, 2021 by Ashley L

    I found this place months ago an couldn't remember the name until the other day I was in the city an googled food near me an low an behold there it was!! I went an ordered 4 beef patties steak and onions and it was everything I wanted an more the patties are amazing

  • Apr 29, 2021 by Justin Credible

    Great customer service one off the best or if not the best Puerto Rican restaurant in Boston hands down from the flavor to the selection of food

  • Feb 01, 2021 by Jackie N.

    Love Lechonera. Favorites are chicken stew, Spanish rice & beans (with stew broth) & beef empanadas. I don't like their chicken empanadas but one of my kids does. Another loves the ham & cheese.

  • Jul 25, 2020 by Kevin D.

    Great Spanish food. The food is fresh and the staff is friendly. Always plenty of parking.

  • Jan 26, 2020 by Mai's Thoughts F.

    Really small spot, not much seating but the food is delicious and the people that work here are super nice!!!! Prices are reasonable Definitely a "to go spot" and highly recommended

  • Oct 27, 2019 by Angel M.

    Small spot with not much seating. Typical PR joint with empanadas and y relleno. The food is much better than the the condition of the building. Pernil and rice is the go to dish.

  • Jul 21, 2019 by Arelis P.

    The best Puerto Rican food and virgin piña coladas, very friendly and fast bringing our food to the table.

  • Jul 21, 2019 by Arelis P.

    The best Puerto Rican food and virgin piña coladas, very friendly and fast bringing our food to the table.

  • Jan 17, 2019 by Manny N.

    The food served here will take you back to Puerto Rico. The food is fresh and made to order. The service is friendly and courteous. A must if you're in the area. I will definitely return. A++

  • Mar 29, 2018 by Dee S.

    This place has really great service. Almost every time I enter I am welcomed with a smile unless it's really jam packed and busy. Though small, the restaurant has about 4-5 tables for eating in, which is cool. The place is always clean and organized which is always a good thing in a small environment. I'm not much of an adventurous eater so I order what I like here which is usually either: Empanadas Rice and peas Stew chicken Chiccharron Fried chicken (too oily for my taste) AND last, but certainly not least, Tres Leché which is homemade and de-li-cious! The prices are a smidge high but worth every buck in taste. They are family run so I support small businesses and don't mind paying more to show love for their grind, quality ingredients and food made with care. My only critique would be that they need more veggie options. Otherwise, La Lechonera meets my expectations for a quality, local business.

  • Dec 29, 2017 by Kervin L.

    The pernil here is the best in Boston. I like the stuffed sweet plantain and empanadas as well. The owner seems nice and prices are low for the amount of food you get there. Definitely one of my favorite spots to grub out at.

  • Jul 15, 2017 by Ric S.

    I went here last year for the lechon and it's the best and now craving for crispy skin of their lechon again, hope to visit again soon.

  • Jul 07, 2017 by Jody G.

    I had a very tasty plate of stewed beef with tostones today. I've been meaning to come in here and I'm glad I finally did

  • Jul 06, 2017 by Richard L.

    Great food great price and super nice people. Looks like the place just added a patio, soon to be open. I see great things in their future

  • May 22, 2017 by Marilyn S.

    Being of Puerto Rican decent, La Lechonera's food always satisfies my pallets.  I have been coming to this beautiful gem for more than 5 years and I have NEVER had a complaint about anything.  The food is freshly made and the seasoning is right on point.  I enjoy cooking but when I'm just too tired after a long day of work, La Lechonera is my go to place.  Their pernil is well seasoned and cooked correctly.  Their carne guisada is flavorful and the meat is super tender.  Their pollo guisado is cooked to perfection and even though it is Puerto Rican cuisine, the Cuban sandwich is amazing!  In terms of service, I have never experienced any bad service.  On the contrary, they go above and beyond what they need to do.  Their customer service is extremely inviting.  In my field of work, I organize a ton of events for the community of the Roxbury, Jamaica Plain area.  I use La Lechonera to cater almost all my events and the reaction of the crowd is always a positive one.  Because of the events they cater for us, alot of our partners ask who catered the event and ask for the information.  Bottom line is that the place is a gem.  The food is delicious, the service is pleasant and the location is perfect.  It's a win win situation.  If you are ever in the area and you enjoy Latin cuisine, please try La Lechonera.  You will not be disappointed.

  • Jan 21, 2017 by Yelp L.

    Amazing , Authentic food !! I love that it is right down the street from me !! Which I'm about to go get some lol . You wouldn't regret eating here ! Customer service is also great . Usually you'd think you'll feel uncomfortable walking in a Hispanic establishment , cause let's face it .. They stare at you .. Like Delecious or whatever that restaurant is called on Hyde park Ave .. But anyway , I'm going to get some Now! I'm very grateful for this hidden jewel !

  • Jan 02, 2017 by Valerie M.

    I LOVE this place. I live in Somerville and when ever I want spanish food I go here. Staff is super friendly and the food is amazing. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Dec 14, 2016 by Sam S.

    To begin please note that this resturant was /is orginally a Dominican and not a Puerto Ricans restaurant.  The food is very delicious and unlike other Etnic cousin their foos is not Salty!   Wow what a relife. Speically for those of us having high blood pressure and those allergic to salt..  I suffer from both issues hence I really enjoy eating here. Since A word says more than thousand pictures, please refer to the pictures That I posted from my last visit, when I purchased large amount of varaity of food for our pre-thanks giving party. The ambiance is okey nothing fancy but comfortable and friendly. The owner Chris is very friendly an accommodating. The only negative point is that not all staff speak or understand English or basic English, so placing phone order for those of us not speaking spanish can be hard and sometimes impossible. While there ask for their unlisted menus! Things like charcoal roasted pig shouldersthat is so dangerously delicious. I highly recommend The Lachonera Resrurant in Rosendale, MA

  • Aug 07, 2016 by Belen Z.

    It's worth finding this place. The food is good and fresh. The chicharrones and mondongo are my favorite!

  • May 23, 2016 by Eliz C.

    I know little about Puerto Rican culture and do not like spicy food, but we wanted to try this restaurant and I figured there would be something I could eat on the menu, and there was. Their beef stew over rice with brown gravy was great; savory and robust and not too spicy. The serving was a big meal for me, I declined the bowl of beans that would have come with it. They had an interesting pineapple soda (bottled in Puerto Rico) to wash it down. The food was ready and hot, served from the steam table. They have 6-8 tables so we ate in, but several people stopped by for takeout. It was very clean. We'll be coming back to try more dishes, and this will probably be one of the regular places we stop to pickup dinner after work.

  • May 16, 2016 by Emma I.

    This restaurant is the cutest little hole in the wall place in Roslindale. From the customer service to the taste of the food, absolutely PERFECT! I am not saying it is upscale, but what I am saying is that this is quality food cooked/served by a thoughtful group of people. The chicken empanadas, tostones, avocado salad, tilapia, tres leches & shakes are amazingggg. Absolutely no complaints! Everyone has got to stop by this place and try it, it truly is worth the time. I will definitely be back!

  • Nov 11, 2015 by S T.

    This place is consistent in the food quality no matter what time of the day you go. The employees are friendly and helpful to the non spanish speaking folks like my husband. The place is small,clean,and quiet. The prices are decent also. Try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Oct 26, 2015 by Dorothy T.

    Love this place, a hidden gem, sitting right in front of a five way intersection. Food is excellent, Staff our so, so nice.  I always have a tough time choosing between the Roast Pork or the Chicharrones.  The Yucca is an added touch.  Dee

  • Oct 23, 2015 by Tiana M.

    I ordered the pernil with white rice and red beans. Delivery was fast and I think the price was fair. Overall everything was delicious, the beans were ok but not bad.

  • Oct 14, 2015 by Clay T.

    Great food.  Friendly service.  Cheaper than a flight to San Juan.  Biftec. Arroz blanco habichielas.  Malta India.

  • Oct 09, 2015 by Nike K.

    Mofongo con cammarones es muy delicioso.. Along with the stew red beans, chicharron, & pastelito..love the food and the service.. Staff makes me feel like I'm back home in the islands.  We need more authentic food like this in Boston.

  • Jul 20, 2015 by Lisa B.

    New owners! Nice no-frills sit down or take out restaurant with home style cooking. Garlic shrimp,  yucca with sauteed onions, bacalao (cod) and chicken stew to die for. Owners are remodeling, and some Peruvian dishes will be added to the menu.

  • Jun 07, 2015 by Cely M.

    I have not been in Boston for awhile and the other place I like to to eat wasn't open. So I found this on the Internet and decided to give it a try the owners are friendly I was a little confused when I walked in because I could tell they weren't Puerto Rican. But regardless they were very friendly and they had lechon which I haven't had in a very long time so I got that with white rice and beans my son and my husband also got plates. The Bistec was kind of dry the portion of food is way to small for the price. I think more food will justify the price, we had 3 plates 2 pastelillos a alcapuria and 3 drinks and total was $40. The price isn't the problem like I mentioned it's the quantity of food I think I was serving a 5 year old. Lechon was good and the chicharron were good but based on amount of food I wouldn't come back, I will only come back to get lechon to go that's it.

  • May 24, 2015 by Frank A.

    Pork roast was real good! Red beans were great. Would definitely go back, my girlfriend really like the beef stew and the service was strong.

  • May 18, 2015 by Bianca A.

    This is by far my favorite Puerto Rican spot in the Boston area. I pick this over Vejigantes in S End any day. Cafeteria style place with the most freshest food. I felt like I was in piñones when I ate that alcapurria. So amazing. The mofongo is delish! Completely recommend

  • Oct 10, 2014 by Luis S.

    My star rating is not quite what I will now articulate. As far as the service, ambiance & the food I'd give the Lechonera between 4-4 1/2. The price/portion ratio could be more generous to the seemingly, working class clientele that frequents the restaurant at times I am there.

  • Jul 16, 2014 by Rodney A.

    One of my favorite places! A cafeteria style restaurant.  Their real gold is their roast pork. It goes by quickly so you should call and place the order over the phone.

  • Oct 27, 2013 by Denise E.

    This is the second time we've eaten at the café - both times really enjoyed our lunch meal. The pernil (I was told this is roasted leg or shoulder part of the pig) was tender and juicy. The lechon (I was told rib and belly part of the pig) was equally juicy. Both meats could have used a bit more garlic. We also ordered a mofongo with garlic sauce - it was freshly made and with just the right amount of garlic - delicious. This place serves very good Puerto Rican food. The food is unpretentious and is cheap. We had  1/2 Lb of pernil,  1/2 Lb of lechon, yellow rice, mofongo, fried yucca, and papa rellena, for under $30. Though I still miss the lechon that is served in restaurants in Guavate or at Bebo's Café near San Juan airport, this place is the closest thing to that in Boston. In Bronx, we like El Nuevo Bohio.

  • Feb 18, 2012 by Daniel I.

    Despite the premade food I found it, the fried chicken in particular, very good. I'm big on service and found the employees very polite and friendly. I'm def going back to try the other options.