Far Out Ice Cream

Far Out Ice Cream

419 Harvard Street
Brookline MA 02446
508-397-3034

Visit Us

Find Us

Far Out Ice Cream Reviews

Located in Brookline, MA offers New Zealand Style Ice Cream

Online Profiles
  • Google Places
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • May 15, 2022 by Amanda Lucas

    It’s a simple concept, not overwhelming. Go for the large. Don’t think twice, get the large. It’s worth it. The blendies are creamy and tasty, the cones are fresh made and crisp, the ice cream is luscious and velvety. Staff were pleasant, informative, very patient.
    So good.

  • May 12, 2022 by Katherine C.

    The sheer smell of waffle cone makes you float inside. We got the kookaberry ice cream which was more tart that I thought it would be, but I guess that makes sense since it's raspberry. They added orange sprinkles and a pretty tall waffle cone. It's interesting that it's a coffee bar split ice cream place, and you have to have a foundation of frozen yogurt or vanilla or chocolate or nondairy. I think it's definitely a simple spot. I wasn't over the moon as I like creamier options. I like that they open the window, and you can smell the cones baking from down the street. I haven't tried the coffee, but I like how they used orange sprinkles simply for the aesthetic

  • May 08, 2022 by BB Bowness

    As an experienced eater of real fruit ice cream growing up in New Zealand, I was thoroughly impressed! Good fruit flavor and creamy ice cream. Will be frequenting this spot!

  • May 01, 2022 by Yutin Z.

    Great place for coffee and ice cream. Far Out specializes in a New Zealand style ice cream where frozen fruit is blended into ice cream. Great place if you like creamy yet refreshing fruit flavors! You can choose from vanilla, chocolate, dairy-free vanilla, and dairy-free chocolate for the ice cream base. For the fruit that can be blended in are blueberry, raspberry, strawberry, mango, banana, pineapple, kookaberry (a blend of the different berries), and the flavor of the month ( Matcha for the month of May 2022). If you do not like fruit, you can also order any base flavor on its own! It can be served in either a cup (3 sizes) or a waffle cone which is $1 extra. You can also add toppings (chocolate flakes, toasted coconut flake, syrups, and orange sprinkles). In addition to the ice cream, they also serve coffee, espresso, hot chocolate, blendies (like a milkshake), pastries, and some apparel. You can also buy pints of the ice cream. I ordered a vanilla kookaberry in a kiddie cup and it was just the right amount. It was really good! I also ordered a honey lavender latte which was rich in flavor as well! The staff was friendly and the place was clean, would definitely recommend this place! One thing to note would be that the line can get pretty long sometimes so there may be a wait.

  • Apr 25, 2022 by Sam L.

    Yum! Couldn't wait to try this spot after lunch. Was not busy at all in a Thursday afternoon. You pick a base flavor and then a frozen fruit. I went with vanilla and strawberry. They use actual fruitand blends it with the ice cream to get fruity ice cream. It was the perfect amount of strawberry. My friend got the affogato and it was perfection. Definitely recommend! Props to the employee for excellent hand hygiene.

  • Apr 25, 2022 by Cristina R.

    Far out! Before coming here, I'd never tried New Zealand style ice cream, and the best way to describe it is a fruity, creamy soft serve. You pick your size, base ice cream, fruit, and any toppings and then get to watch the staff make your treat right before your eyes! We went with the premium vanilla base and kookaberry, which is a fruit mix, topped with toasted coconut flakes. The texture of the ice cream is very smooth, so I enjoyed the coconut on top for some contrast. The color is beautiful, and the fruit flavor is refreshing. Perfect for a hot New Zealand... I mean Boston... day. I'm looking forward to coming back to try more base + fruit combos. Super choice!

  • Apr 24, 2022 by Meghna Sengupta

    Edit 2: Actually had a chance to visit the shop in person and absolutely loved everything about it! The ice creams were great as was the cold brew (which you can buy in a cool jug!). The owner and the employees are all super sweet, nice people. Can't wait to go back and try more ice creams.

    Edit: As mentioned in the reply below from the shop, the matter is being looked into and I'm sure the refund will also be issued. As such, I am changing this review. This was on Easter weekend and I am assuming the store was busy, which is why the phone could not be reached. Far Out, thank you for looking into the issue.

    Original Review: Do Not place an order online. You will not get your order and their customer service is terrible. They do not pick up their phones and their partner websites are rubbish too. Extremely annoyed. Basically had my money stolen.

  • Apr 21, 2022 by Qme Z.

    Affogato was on point! We came in on a weekday around lunchtime and place was pretty empty. Only one guy working there but he was friendly and efficient. He wore gloves when scooping ice cream and changed them between using the register and preparing the orders. Not sure if it's odd that I notice these things but he follows great infection control measures. Hats off to the guy who was working that day! Will return to try other ice cream flavors.

  • Apr 19, 2022 by Jonathan Davidson

    Original: No words

    Edit to respond to owners:
    Yes, it would be nice if you streamlined operations a bit. Definitely there's charm in having fruit blended into the ice cream but it's very slow. For example, could you use one of your machines per type of ice cream to reduce the amount it needs to be cleaned between uses? Whatever you and food safety experts think could make your operation more efficient.

  • Apr 18, 2022 by Meghna Sengupta

    Edit: As mentioned in the reply below from the shop, the matter is being looked into and I'm sure the refund will also be issued. As such, I am changing this review. This was on Easter weekend and I am assuming the store was busy, which is why the phone could not be reached. Far Out, thank you for looking into the issue.

    Original Review: Do Not place an order online. You will not get your order and their customer service is terrible. They do not pick up their phones and their partner websites are rubbish too. Extremely annoyed. Basically had my money stolen.

  • Apr 16, 2022 by Aleksander Meyer

    I've never had this style of ice cream again but will definitely be coming back! I had frozen strawberries and matcha blended into vanilla ice cream, and my partner got raspberry in vanilla. Both were awesome! I got a cup of ice cream, but the cones seem to be house made and I'll definitely go for that next time.

  • Apr 12, 2022 by Catherine M.

    This place is relatively new on Harvard and if you have not had a chance to check it out yet, I would highly recommend. All their ice cream is flavored by combining it with fruit. You can choose up to 3 different fruit flavors and one topping, is included in the price. I had gotten the vanilla ice cream base and it was very creamy. My boyfriend had the frozen yogurt base which made it more fruity. Overall a really cool concept and everyone there was so nice and explain the process to you if you've never been.

  • Mar 26, 2022 by Tom L.

    Hard to give a rating when I haven't been able to try it yet. Stood in like for 20 minutes (short line) and gave up. The service time is super slow which may just be due to the process, they need to figure out a better way to keep the line moving.

  • Mar 23, 2022 by Sabrina Cohen

    Interesting concept, and fairly good. There chocolate ice cream was not super flavorful, but with sauce was good. Otherwise, just be mindful of what combo you choose, some are better than others. My group got a chocolate mago malty, chcolate berry malty and chocolate raspberry ice cream with chocolate sauce.

  • Mar 14, 2022 by Lupe C.

    I really enjoyed this ice cream. It was super refreshing, had a smooth consistency, and was very tasty. If you love fruit, you will definitely love this ice cream!

  • Mar 12, 2022 by Noah L.

    4.5/5 Boston is home to a fair amount of solid ice cream places, making it really important for each place to have something to stand out from its competitors. Far Out decides to approach this by having making soft serve in a really unique machine that combines frozen fruit and whatever ice cream flavor you want. The result is a very creamy and fruity flavor, almost similar to a smoothie. It is a bit pricey (about $6 for a soft-serve), but if you're willing to pay that much, it's a good dessert experience

  • Mar 08, 2022 by Alyssa P.

    Far Out Ice Cream is the cutest! Located in Brookline, it is definitely a spot to check out! We got the kookaberry which was vanilla ice cream base blended with berries and then mango and banana ice cream blended with vanilla! I personally am not the craziest about soft serve so I can't be the biggest critic, but I definitely enjoyed and would go again. Also, they serve Night Shift Brewing coffee which can only be found there! It was so good and their signature hot chocolate and lattes are great too!

  • Mar 02, 2022 by Daisy Y.

    As a froyo/soft serve aficionado, I was intrigued by far out. They tout themselves as "new Zealand" style ice cream. From what I can tell, the ice cream is made with a drill that manually pulverizes frozen fruit into an ice cream base of your choosing (vanilla, chocolate, froyo, dairy free) and is then extruded. I got the kookaberry which seems to be mixed berry flavor. Of course, this is not cheap ice cream. A medium size + cone will set you back ~$7. It's a labor intensive process, so I can understand the price. The ice cream is super photogenic (which is why I went) and the ice cream definitely tasted "high-end" like other local ice cream shops. However, both the kookaberry and pineapple didn't have a strong flavor (more creamy vanilla rather than fruit flavor) which was disappointing. I'm interested in trying the froyo base next time, as maybe the vanilla ice base was too overpowering.

  • Feb 28, 2022 by Jaclyn

    Best ice cream EVER! Truly unlike anything I’ve had before. Staff was kind and helpful, waffle cones are made in house, and the ice cream is 10/10. What are you waiting for? Go get some!!

  • Jan 28, 2022 by El Roz

    Clean and attractive inside.
    Ice cream is excellent and the fruit mixing adds a tangy flavor.
    Coffee is very good indeed - not what one usually expects in an ice cream cafe. Coffee is wonderful.

  • Jan 01, 2022 by Rida Sadiq

    As soon as we walked into this place we had an amazing experience, the person up front was friendly and asked us if we had any questions and greeted us. He than explained how their ice cream works and what flavors to choose. We really appreciated the time and kindness. I got the kookaberry ( mixed berry) with vanilla ice cream and my husband got the strawberry and banana with vanilla ice cream. It was so delicious they mix real fruit into the ice cream to create a delicious soft serve! It's new Zealand style ice cream and so good. I can't wait to be back when I'm in Boston. They also had coffee which looked great too next time will have to try that.

  • Dec 14, 2021 by Serkan Otsuz

    It was really good. Taste is so fresh fruit and creamy milky ice cream. Place is very cozy and clean. I can recommend to everyone to try their mango, pineapple and premium vanilla or chocolate ice cream base. I liked their colors.

  • Nov 29, 2021 by Daniel Wu

    VERY friendly staff, and the machines are so cool and fun to watch! The ice cream is good, too - I highly recommend their strawberry and kookaberry flavors! Wish I could give five stars but the price is a bit too high for the smaller portions that they give (vs. the sizes you could get at something like J.P. Licks)

  • Nov 11, 2021 by Brian Rosmus

    Just surprised myself by getting an ice cream in the middle of November but I am glad I did! Absolutely fantastic ice cream. I am not one for super sweet ice cream with tons of candy, so this place is absolutely perfect for me. The fruit adds so much flavor and texture I was blown away. I got the vanilla kookaberry. This place would be fantastic for a quick dessert after dinner or for a date night activity.

    Something else to note, they have really good and fairly priced coffee! I got an iced coffee and was pleasantly surprised...one of the best coffees I've had lately. Well done and welcome to the neighborhood!!

  • Nov 07, 2021 by Anne-Marie

    Stopped by on the opening weekend and had a wonderful experience! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, while the interior is spacious and bright. We tried the kookaberry and mango flavors with the vanilla ice cream base - both turned out delicious! Very creamy and rich, with real fruit providing a wonderful flavor. I highly recommend this place if you’re looking for a fruity treat!