Flour Bakery & Cafe

Flour Bakery & Cafe

131 Clarendon Street
Boston MA 02116
617-437-7700

Visit Us

Find Us

Flour Bakery Reviews

Flour Bakery & Café on Clarendon Street Boston, MA

Back Bay Café and Bake Shop

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • TripAdvisor
  • Yellow Pages
  • Yelp
  • Zomato
Reviews
  • May 04, 2022 by Cole S.

    Great atmosphere and cute location. Grilled cheese and tomato soup (with complementary bread ends!) were good and cheap. Spicy tomato soup should be a staple on the menu, not just a daily soup!! Only complaint is that matcha was pretty bland and the chai could have been spicier but was still good and  pastries and cake were great.

  • May 02, 2022 by Maddy A.

    Cute small chain. Star of the meal was the sticky bun, it was INCREDIBLE! Pop tart was also fantastic, but it is very sugary. Service was a little slow, but they were very charming and kind.

  • May 02, 2022 by Jay P.

    My weekly goto place. Best things to try - Hummus Sandwich - Broccoli Sandwich (highly recommend) Occasionally try out daily variations in soup.

  • May 02, 2022 by Gina L.

    Extremely easy online ordering, complete with pictures!! The visual learner in me was ecstatic. Pick-up was just as easy. We ordered a couple roast beef sandwiches, turkey + swiss, and a homemade hummus. Also chose a few pastries (sticky buns, carrot cake, cinnamon roll) . Loved the fried onions in the roast beef, which gave richness and a crunch. Bun and roll were very tasty (we liked the bun more because it was *nuts*), but weren't big fans of the carrot cake (almost a preservative-y taste). Definitely a "local" sandwich place to Boston that's worth a stop, whether it's a WFH pick me up, or a Boston Common picnic. Not surprised to learn this place is owned by Joanne Chang. Hope to be back to try the other sandwiches and pastries!!

  • Apr 21, 2022 by Candra Moye

    This establishment serves the greatest wood-fired pizza I've ever had. The server was quite informed about the menu and was able to guide us in our selections.
    We had a great time with the happy hour drinks and appetizers then ordered four pizzas, all of which were fantastic.

  • Apr 19, 2022 by Helen L.

    I really like flour bakery! The vegan hummus sandwich is good and so are their vegan pastries. The only downside is it gets very crowded so there is not much place to sit!

  • Apr 15, 2022 by Cassandra R.

    Very cute cafe. The cinnamon roll was delicious and a good size (but not too huge). The latte was great too, I subbed oat milk in mine and would definitely recommend!

  • Apr 12, 2022 by Katy Frost Galloway

    I went to Flour about a month ago with my family and we had a great experience! The food and service were outstanding! One of the employees, Lexie, took great care of us when we were there, going out of her way during the very busy morning rush to help me find the right size t-shirt. She represents the company incredibly well and you could not ask for more kindness or better customer service. She would make an excellent manager if given the opportunity.

  • Apr 11, 2022 by Anna L

    I could easily see Flour becoming my local if I lived in Boston.
    What do you do to the pickled chillies on the avocado toast? They are so delicious. Breakfast sandwich was great too and I really enjoyed the Good Morning muffin.
    Just a great spot to sit in the window and watch the world go by. Everything was delicious and the staff were so friendly. Thank you.

  • Apr 07, 2022 by Allison Burke

    I typically don’t write reviews but I had to write one for this Flour location. The staff is always SO nice and I literally DREAM about the green goddess dressing they have here it is by far my favorite dressing I’ve ever tasted in my 24 years of being on this earth. The whole menu is healthy and delicious. If I could give a 10 stars I would.

  • Apr 02, 2022 by Sarah Marie

    The sausage kale soup is a fave of mine. All of the pastries are always fresh but the Boston creme pie and carrot cake are 10/10. The low-fat vegan chocolate muffin is so good you cannot tell its vegan at all. My only qualm is all the people who sit in the restaurant with just a coffee so there is never any seating for people actually eating lunch. Expect to do take out!

  • Mar 30, 2022 by A C.

    I ordered the snacking cake and it was moist and so filling! The sticky bun is their signature so worth a try, but a little sweet and dry for my taste. The banana bread was super delicious! Their coffee was nice and not too acidic. Would love to come again!!

  • Mar 27, 2022 by Emily M.

    Good food and drinks. It's a bit expensive, but the quality is consistent and high. Would recommend.

  • Mar 20, 2022 by Ian Molloy

    This place knows what they’re doing. They have such an efficient system, the line was fairly long and it was busy but they still got the food out extremely fast. Very impressive. And so many delicious options that are top tier.

  • Mar 20, 2022 by Sarah P.

    Stopped in here for breakfast when I was visiting Boston. The breakfast sandwich was pretty good, I wasn't blown away but I'd order it again if I needed something to tide me over. I was able to have a slice of Boston Creme Pie and this was delicious. I really enjoyed my first BCP experience and was happy to have had it here. I did also try the sticky bun, and this was definitely my favorite bite. I'd recommend this if you stop in. There was a bit of a line, but it seemed to move pretty fast so it was worth the short wait. If i'm in town I'd come back! 4/5

  • Mar 18, 2022 by Simran A.

    Came here to get coffee and some baked goodies on a Friday morning and it wasn't crowded. The sticky bun is worth the hype and easily shareable since it can get too sweet. The cinnamon bun and the raspberry pop tart are yummy too! I also got the regular cup of coffee and wasn't a fan- nothing special about it, tasted below average. They have a few tables and area to sit inside. For me, it was one of those places I would go once to try the bakery items.

  • Mar 16, 2022 by Ondrea T.

    We visited before going sightseeing. The sticky and hot cross Buns were ok. The coffee was good. The atmosphere was great. Next time I will just order coffee.

  • Feb 22, 2022 by Thanh L.

    The place was pretty busy. We order off the machine to the side to avoid the line. We got the Sticky Sticky Bun and got it warm. It took like 5 minutes. It was super sticky and sweet. The bun was soft and tasty. Definitely worth the $4 something for it. Service was fast and friendly

  • Feb 20, 2022 by Charlene E.

    I was first introduced to flour bakery through my old job during COVID 2020 when we were getting free lunches, nurse here ‍! Anyways even since then I've been obsessed! Their sweet potato sandwich was the first thing I fell in love with, followed by their coconut cake which is now my weakness. Their blts are also tasty. Their sandwiches taste fresh so when I need a sandwich or a quick pastry, I come here.

  • Feb 20, 2022 by Sharon S.

    I ordered a last minute birthday cake (8") over the phone and they made it happen!! Unfortunately, the cake was rather dry and stale when I tried it ... womp womp. But I have to give them credit for making this work at 1 PM.

  • Feb 20, 2022 by Taisha R.

    * Friends told us these usually sell out before 4pm. Had to find out why * The reason: sweet, soft, crispy, salty! They have an option to microwave it. Highly suggest * Officially part of the cult

  • Feb 18, 2022 by Barney M.

    Fantastic bakery and great sandwiches.  Love this place.  Would eat here anytime! Hhhhhhh

  • Feb 15, 2022 by Bianca Rodriguez

    Cute coffee shop. Coffee was really good. Had the raspberry crumb and the coffee cake with strawberry glaze which were very tasty. Proof of vaccination is required for dine-in. Quick and friendly service.

  • Feb 15, 2022 by Lauren P.

    Flour consistently has delicious baked goods and coffee. Can't go wrong. We often end up at the flour in back Bay Area when Friendly Toast line is too long, and it's a great substitute

  • Feb 15, 2022 by Lauren P.

    Flour consistently has delicious baked goods and coffee. Can't go wrong. We often end up at the flour in back Bay Area when Friendly Toast line is too long, and it's a great substitute

  • Feb 13, 2022 by Kavita K.

    Perfect for brunch!!! Everything - and I mean every. single. thing. It's all fresh and delicious. Especially love the sticky buns, cauliflower melt sandwich, and avocado toast. Lots of flexibility to customize how you want it. Definitely cannot miss this landmark cafe when visiting Boston/Beacon Hill!!

  • Feb 11, 2022 by Timothy L.

    It was a wonderful place. I found it during the search for a place to have brunch. Their sandwiches and coffee were incredible. This place is doing it right. I didn't have a bad bite the entire meal. Get everything, well, if you don't get everything all at once, go back and get something else the next time.

  • Feb 10, 2022 by Michelle H.

    Tried the famous sticky buns. Would say that it's good, but not as blown away as people make it sound. There's a lot of goo and pecans, the brioche is denser and not as pillowy as I prefer. Tastes like what you would imagine a sticky bun to taste like, on the sweeter side but not unbearably so. Worth a try, but would try their sandwiches if I were to come again. Tips: eat in store as it can get messy, ask for it warmed up, and share it between 2

  • Feb 08, 2022 by Saul O.

    This place is great, always fresh ingredients welcoming staff and delicious pastries, the only negative criticism I have is they've change their espresso machine to a generic coffee maker:( early morning this place gets very busy) order in advance to avoid long lines or at the kiosk.

  • Feb 07, 2022 by Ellie B.

    Everything I've had here is delicious. The two standouts are the salmon and spinach salad and the gluten free almond macaroon. The cookie is both crispy and soft. Yummm.

  • Jan 27, 2022 by Beantown T.

    LOVE LOVE LOVE their sandwiches.  Good, quick and on the go.  In and out in 5 minutes.   Roast Chicken is my favorite.  Chopped Greek if in the salad mood.   Could be a bit cleaner.

  • Jan 22, 2022 by Regina G.

    The cutest bakery! We were there because we were waiting on our table at the Friendly Toast. I only got a drink but would definitely go again to try their food!

  • Jan 19, 2022 by Marissa R.

    I never have anything negative to say about Flour; it seriously blows Tatte out of the water. I always stop at (any) Flour whenever I'm in a pinch for lunch and want something filling. They have a wide menu to accommodate all types of eaters, and their coffee is always HOT and flavorful. My favorite is the vanilla latte and I love that they have various plant milks to choose from. Definitely a must for coffee, pastries, or lunch!

  • Jan 15, 2022 by Charlene S.

    Everything was good. Everything. Easy review to read, right? Just a few details below: The line was long, but moved fairly quickly. It gave enough time for half of us to stand and order and half of us to find seats. Seating is available both inside and out, and the only downside is that the inside smelled heavily of bacon. Sounds weird that that's a bad thing, but it hung pretty thick in the air. That thick smell of, not quite smoke, but potent. Kind of... greasy? Vegetarian review:   -  the grilled cauliflower melt was delicious and substantial. The cauliflower still had bite, so texture wasn't soggy, and the cheese was melty and gooey. Wonderful. -  chocolate chip cookies were also delicious. A little crisp on the edges, chewy on the inside.... Get one. Sorry- I don't know the parking situation.

  • Dec 30, 2021 by Tiffany C.

    Only came in for coffee, but wish we had stayed for breakfast as everything looked delicious and prices were decent. I got the Coconut Cream Cold Brew and it was creamy delight in a cup!

  • Dec 26, 2021 by Dan P.

    This is my favorite bakery and sandwich place.  Not going to Flour is one of my few regrets from our new work-from-home lifestyle.  Their breakfast scones, coffee, and lunch sandwich are all great.  They are allergy-friendly too.

  • Dec 16, 2021 by Jon and Amanda Lewis

    This is a fun little place. The quiche was good but I would have preferred it with more veggies or meat in it. There are a lot of great options for pastries and our coffee was delicious.

  • Dec 13, 2021 by Amanda L.

    The best avocado toast I ever had. Everything there was incredibly delicious. Long lines, but food came out quickly. Definitely coming back! ;-)

  • Dec 07, 2021 by Dushyant Maheshwary

    Flour bakery was one of the highlights of the trip. We got lucky with the timing as well. We got here before 9 and had to wait around 10 mins to place the order. Somewhere between 9-9.30am, the line got twice or 3 times the size. We had the mozzarella sandwich and the vegetarian quiche. I had a mocha and my wife had orange juice. Everything was fantastic! The mocha was one of the best that I've had. Simply delicious! The orange juice was fresh and sweet. The staff is excellent! Loved the outdoor seating as well. Highly recommend this place for breakfast or if you're just looking for a cup of coffee.

  • Nov 17, 2021 by MarkP115

    Flour offers consistently fine food. I use the app to place orders and pick up my orders. The staff is very friendly, but there are times when Flour gets very busy and orders placed hours earlier are not ready on time. This is a minor...annoyance, however, and I will happily return.More

  • Nov 07, 2021 by Ted L.

    excellent food, incredibly busy. it looks like the staff is barely keeping up with streaming order that either come through physical line inside the store and online/app orders. it takes a long time so be patient but the food is very excellent! one minor comment is that for a bakery+cafe, you mostly leave the place with the smell of bacon instead of smell of being in a bakery:)

  • Nov 06, 2021 by Tarun Yadav

    Came for some post-lunch dessert. Queueing outside the door. Well worth the wait. Had a signature Brownie and a slice of Boston Cream Pie. Both delicious. Not particularly expensive either. Came to like $10. RECOMMEND

  • Nov 06, 2021 by Juudge I.

    Good quality ingredients and tasty flavors on breakfast sandwiches. Everything on the menu is good.

  • Nov 02, 2021 by Audrey D.

    Ordered my food at 11:55am. Showed up at 12:19 the specific time the app said my food was ready. Had to wait another 30 minutes to receive my food. My order: half a sandwich and a seltzer.  I wish I just cancelled my order and asked for a refund because once I opened my sandwich it was a mess and so sloppy and gross. Giving 3 stars because they do have tasty food, but if you're in a rush or care about your lunch break time don't order from here.

  • Oct 31, 2021 by Amy T.

    Look no further for delicious breakfast and even take away snacks!! We got granola, spicy nuts, and cookies for the road!

  • Oct 27, 2021 by Rochelle Q.

    We went on a somewhat rainy Monday morning! There was a line, thankfully, it wasn't out the door. It was our last day in Boston and wanted to check this place out. It's a nice place to meet up with friends to hang out or study. Noise level was average and place was clean We ordered the cauliflower melt, drip coffee and iced coffee. We asked for the cauliflower melt to me cut in half since we were splitting it. We like that we can still hear them call out names from where we were sitting which was a far corner of the place. The cauliflower melt was amazing and perfect for a cold morning. The iced coffee was standard and I love that the had milk alternative carafes out.

  • Oct 22, 2021 by Charles McKenzie

    Delicious as always! It's been a good while since I had Flour and as usual they do a fantastic job. Ordered the chicken sandwich with jicama (my favorite) and a limeade (hadn't had before). Both were excellent. I didn't get a cookie or pastry this time around but also recommend.

    Good To Know: If ordering online (probably applies even offline too) would recommend trying to time your order before or after the lunch hour for this location (Back Bay) on weekdays since in my experience it gets pretty crowded!

    For the Restaurant:
    Recognizing I'm not an expert and there may be really good reasons for the process in place, I thought of something while enjoying my sandwich:

    During the lunch hour, particularly at this location, it might be worth dispensing with the usual process and putting items from online orders on the pick up table as they come out of the kitchen instead of trying to call names/waiting for the customer to provide theirs? It might also be worth adding clear instructions somewhere for what the customer should do when they enter the restaurant so they don't end up waiting around for their name to be called instead of providing it at the counter or whatever you decide they should do. Its a pretty small space for a large crowd!

    Here's why: I ordered online during the lunch hour and it seemed like your staff were doing an amazing job keeping up with preparing the orders, but weren't using the customer accessible pick-up table. The result seemed to be a lot of people waiting around for their name to be called or needing to go up to the counter to provide their name. A friendly but somewhat stressed looking staff member was heroically taking everyone's names, trying to find the right sandwich on a table behind the counter for the right item, then signing off on the handheld (which i assume sends the text message). The result of all of this was that I waited probably an extra 15-20 minutes for a sandwich that might have already been ready. Hope this helps. Appreciate you all; thanks for a great lunch! :)

  • Oct 21, 2021 by Marci K.

    We had Grubhub deliver to our hotel . Fabulous decision!!! I cannot wait to eat Flour's food again. Based on Christina Tosi's recommendation, we couldn't wait to order from the woman-owned business while visiting Boston.  We ordered the veggie sandwich (I WILL DREAM OF THIS SANDWICH FOREVER)...chickpeas and pickled veggies give it a Bahn mi vibe and THE BREAD!!! Heaven!  We also ordered the cauliflower grilled cheese- amazing!!!!!   Cannot wait to enjoy this food again!

  • Oct 20, 2021 by Heather Marie V.

    I am *obsessed* with Flour Bakery! This review isn't about one particular experience, but essentially a love letter to the bakery. I haven't lived in Boston for nearly a decade and every time I'm home, I ensure that I stop by a location at least once. I always load up on goodies, and usually snag a sandwich. I especially love the chunky lola and tcho chocolate chip cookies, the macaroons, and raspberry crumb bars. My go to sandwich is the roast chicken (it introduced me to jicama!), but I always try the seasonal sandwiches too. The staff is always chipper and listen carefully to your orders, anything that isn't pre-made will be cranked out quickly. The food is always perfect, from the baked goods to the sandwiches, obviously made with a lot of care and passion. My favorite location is this one: great people watching, a park across the street, and usually plenty of seating. I recommend buying the Flour cookbooks, so you can have a taste of it at home! I'm already dreaming about another Flour visit when I'll be home in a month...

  • Oct 16, 2021 by piyush chopra

    Amazing cafe. ! Love the cauliflower melt. The pesto base on the sandwich is just brilliant! Also a must visit place for their bakery!

  • Oct 15, 2021 by Sheryl B

    Quality, price, service - everything is excellent at Flour! It's my go to for quick and quality lunch. A gem of Boston.

  • Oct 15, 2021 by Michelle T.

    We called ahead to order breakfast here around 8am on a Saturday. When we went to pick it up the store was packed and all the tables outside were full. Lots of people were there so we were glad we ordered for take out. The food was packaged nicely and it tasted amazing! Will definitely be returning here in the future.

  • Oct 12, 2021 by Josh M.

    Still the best baked goods around. Use the app.  No, really, you'll thank me later.  The in-person impulse thing doesn't work here during peaks. Still some of the best retail baked goods in town.  Literally, there is no item here under amazing.  BUT.........if the line is more than four deep, check to see if it is moving along or you will be there longer than anticipated. Still awesome, but my post-Covid spending here has been halved by the slow moving days. Quite simply the best baked goods I've had in a long, long time. Items tried and loved: Mushroom Brioche Butter Breton Sugared Brioche Pecan Sticky Bun Bread Pudding French Roast Coffee Any of the single origin coffees The breakfast egg sandwich Haven't had anything bad. Sometimes, the line can be slow and I'll turn right around, but, generally, they're great at keeping it moving. The Seaport location is great, as well. I wouldn't go to Boston just for it, but it is a must-visit if you're in town. 12/11/19 Figured I'd update this one. Still some of the best baked goods around. While I miss the mushroom brioche, the Spinach and Artichoke that replaced it is equally divine. Love the rolls, all of them. The pecan roll is ridiculous and a great excuse for more coffee. Breakfast sandwiches are hot, fresh and delicious. Also, the staff are always friendly and professional.  Love me some bakers, they are a dying breed. Nice work, all of you 01/10/2020 Still the best baked goods in Boston.  I commute from the Worcester area and it's the best in all that area too. As a city business, it's a little more expensive, but I genuinely feel anything I've gotten was worth the money and a true treat.   Love me some bakers.  Especially the good ones. Quite simply the best baked goods I've had in a long, long time. Items tried and loved: Mushroom Brioche Butter Breton Sugared Brioche Pecan Sticky Bun Bread Pudding French Roast Coffee Any of the single origin coffees The breakfast egg sandwich Haven't had anything bad. Sometimes, the line can be slow and I'll turn right around, but, generally, they're great at keeping it moving. The Seaport location is great, as well. I wouldn't go to Boston just for it, but it is a must-visit if you're in town. 12/11/19 Figured I'd update this one. Still some of the best baked goods around. While I miss the mushroom brioche, the Spinach and Artichoke that replaced it is equally divine. Love the rolls, all of them. The pecan roll is ridiculous and a great excuse for more coffee. Breakfast sandwiches are hot, fresh and delicious. Also, the staff are always friendly and professional.  Love me some bakers, they are a dying breed. Nice work, all of you. Quite simply the best baked goods I've had in a long, long time. Items tried and loved: Mushroom Brioche Butter Breton Sugared Brioche Pecan Sticky Bun Bread Pudding French Roast Coffee Any of the single origin coffees The breakfast egg sandwich Haven't had anything bad. Sometimes, the line can be slow and I'll turn right around, but, generally, they're great at keeping it moving. The Seaport location is great, as well. I wouldn't go to Boston just for it, but it is a must-visit if you're in town.

  • Oct 03, 2021 by Sharon L.

    Flour bakery is open early and definitely have a ton of people ready to order their food. I was here 930 in the morning and there was already a decently long line but the staff is not only super speedy but also very kind. The person that took our order was very nice and kind. The wait was not long at all and I got my food pretty quickly. I got the applewood smoked bacon sandwich, which was actually really big and also got the lemon limeade which was nicely tart but also sweet. The sandwich was crunchy and juicy from the tomatoes and sauce, a good balance. I love that it was toasted as well. I also ordered the chocolate brioche and almond croissant and both pastries were delightful! Overall the food was a decent size and tasted great. The prices were not bad as well for Boston, cheaper than some brunch places for sure. Would be back!!

  • Oct 01, 2021 by Natalie P.

    This place nails the pastry game. The brioche au chocolat was a great change to the usual chocolate croissant I order, mostly because this brioche came packed with chocolate, more chocolate than a croissant can offer. I also had a hot latte. I was hoping there would be some seasonal drinks offered here but did not find any , so I added as some cinnamon to my drink and it tasted good. The breakfast sandwich was also tasty but served lukewarm. The egg soufflé was an interesting variation on an otherwise typical breakfast sandwich. The flavor was there, I'm just not sure I would choose to have an egg souffléd on a sandwich again, the texture was just a little off for me. It is worth a try though!

  • Sep 24, 2021 by Andrew Fernandez

    Came across this coffee shop and it was very nice. Indoor and outdoor seating. Small park next to the outdoor seating for small kids so you can enjoy coffee while they burn off energy. Lots of food options from pastries to sandwiches. Will be back.

  • Sep 22, 2021 by Tina B.

    THE BEST SALAD!  I love my salad but this took me to an entire different level. I had the tomato farro salad which was amazing.  My husband and daughter both had turkey and roast beef sandwiches.  My husband who is selective was left speechless on the flavor and combination of meet, cheese, dressing and veggies.  My daughter had turkey and of course purchased chocolate chip cookies, chocolate croissants and more.  Not only is the food fresh, creative and delicious, the people, Hollywood, who work their and take care of everyone are amazing.  Always serve with a smile and they know their  product.  I would have them cater any event if they did.  You have to stop by for lunch when in Boston.  They need to open up a shop in Burlington, Vermont!!

  • Sep 20, 2021 by Gabriela Kamienski

    Very nice place. Pretty, cozy and the food delicious!! Would recommend the sandwiches & quiches - also the iced tea and chocolate chip cookies

  • Sep 20, 2021 by Gabriel F.

    My favorite bakery in Boston for delicious sandwiches and baked goodies. This location is walking distance from my school, New England Law. I frequent this location for dinner on nights I have class. The seasonal Smoked Turkey sandwich with zucchini relish, black pepper pecorino mayo, and red gem lettuce on multigrain is PHENOMENAL. I "occasionally" pair it with a chocolate cupcake, vegan chocolate muffin, or the famous brown butter cinnamon roll for dessert. I am always satisfied by this place. Highly highly recommend.

  • Sep 16, 2021 by Courtney A.

    BEST GLUTEN FREE BREAD I HAVE EVER HAD. I'm not a dramatic person, but I was literally speechless. I had to ask multiple times to make sure it was truly gluten free especially because it even looked better than the non-gluten free bread. The dijonaise sauce that comes on it is also super tasty and I definitely asked for extra on the side. After developing a gluten sensitivity, I haven't been able to have bread in over a year and normally overlook gluten free bread because it's just not the same. It meant so much to me to actually be able to bite into a sandwich and actually enjoy it. Can't wait to visit Boston again so I can come back here for breakfast!! Matcha latte was also good. Loved the overall ambiance of the café and the outdoor seating. Yay, you just made our day sweeter!

  • Sep 14, 2021 by Gary W.

    Honestly, this is one of the best operational coffee shops around. The line may be long at times but they're so aware of each customer and incredibly friendly, it's worth it. The coffee is spot on, cold brew runs out quick, try the pop tart pastry (seriously good). Thanks Flour Bakery + Cafe for my daily fix while in Boston! HI Gary - Thank you for the excellent review. See you next time at Flour! Kerri

  • Sep 08, 2021 by Matthew Brunken

    The customer service speaks for itself. Wonderful people. I wasn't even ordering, just walked past the restaurant one day on a walk, and one of the ladies said "Hello, Matthew!" because she remembered my name after only a couple orders. That's some crazy service, and it made me continue going back. The food is okay, the sandwiches in particular aren't something I would go out of my way for. The drinks are amazing, a bit on the bitter side, but they are always happy to make my drinks extra sweet when I ask.

  • Sep 04, 2021 by Peter O.

    Hands down, Flour Bakery is one of my favorite places to go to enjoy a nice bite and coffee for breakfast/brunch!!! I enjoy the wide range of dessert options- as I find them to be creative and delicious. For the sandwiches, I enjoy  the roast beef sandwich the most as it is overall pleasing and simple! Eventually, I'd like to try something different there but its hard to do something different when the usual just works so well! Hello Peter! Thanks for the great review! Kerri

  • Sep 02, 2021 by Gaetano Lombardo

    Excellent coffee and food. And despite being VERY busy the morning I visited, the service was very patient and helpful. Next time I’m in the area, I’ll go out of my way to revisit.

  • Aug 31, 2021 by Jackie Barnes

    Please add more savory scones. I am usually in around 2:30 and there are none. I am eager to try the chive scone.

    Great and attentive service.

  • Aug 29, 2021 by Patricia S.

    Found this bakery across the street from our hotel in the Back Bay.  I'm lucky I didn't find it on the first day of our trip because it is incredible!  I had the sticky roll and then went back for a savory scone (Parmesan and chive).  Delicious.  Really good iced coffee too! Hi Patricia - Thank you for the awesome review!! See you next time you are in town! Kerri

  • Aug 28, 2021 by Meghan H.

    We are visiting here from the Bay Area, CA. The service is attentive & organized, just fantastic! Despite the long lines, the pastries and coffee are with the wait. And if you order online it's super fast. I especially recommend the blueberry pop tart. The puff pastry is perfect, buttery soft layers gently coated in the blueberry filling. Hi Meghan - Thank you for the great review. See you next time you are in town! Flour Bakery

  • Aug 27, 2021 by Vivian T.

    When I can in, I saw that there was a long line, but I noticed a single kiosk (empty) and went there to order instead of waiting. The little kiosk made ordering much easier and faster which is a great plus. Sticky Bun 9/10 - I love love love that they had a heated option for this one. This makes sure that you get a nice gooey-ness. The bun had plenty of pecans that helped balance the sweetness of the thick syrup. It was warm, soft and a delicious way to start off a morning. Chocolate Brioche 4/10 - I wish this had a heated option like the sticky bun. The brioche was flat and cold. I didn't mind the coldness as much as the flatness and density of the pastry. It was like eating a squished supermarket pre-packaged chocolate pastry. It didn't taste bad (how can you go wrong with butter and chocolate), it was just disappointing for a bakery. I would not recommend this one. Although the brioche was disappointing, the sticky buns are a must-try. I'd like to come back and try their sandwiches since I've heard many good things about them. Hi Vivian! I am happy you liked the sticky bun! I will pass along your feedback about the Brioche au Chocolat. Kerri

  • Aug 25, 2021 by Patrick H.

    GO THERE!  - even if you aren't hungry, you won't regret it.  Great breakfast and awesome pastries. Inside/outside seating.

  • Aug 23, 2021 by Treavor Kuipers

    Best Sticky Buns Period! Banana bread and fruit crumbles are also good. Breakfast sandwich was delicious per the others in my group. The line can get a little long and wait times can be the same, but what good place doesn't have both of those things...so plan accordingly.

  • Aug 18, 2021 by Mike Kesow

    The absolute best banana bread I have ever had. Take the best banana bread your grandma ever made and then make it better. How? I don't know, but this place figured it out. Instead of dense & stodgy this is moist, light, almost cake like but still holds up. I see online that there are recipes for Flour Bakery banana bread and I'll try making it when I get back to Pittsburgh, but I'm gonna guess it won't quite be the same.

  • Jun 27, 2021 by Phaedra Thomas

    Super busy but very efficiently run. Delicious breakfast sandwich and fresh mozzarella sandwich. Delicious cold brew. Very cite location too with ample indoor and outdoor space.

  • Sep 18, 2020 by Andre Behrens

    My favorite fast breakfast.