Simply Social Dancing

Simply Social Dancing

84 Euclid Avenue
Hackensack NJ 07601
201-694-7087

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Simply Social Dance Hackensack, NJ Reviews

Learn to Dance Today

Social dancing offers the experience of dancing with a partner.

Together you create a dance unique to the two of you in response to the music playing.

Read thru some of our Dance Lesson Reviews and our Social Event Reviews here in Hackensack, New Jersey

Online Profiles
  • Google Places
  • Yelp
Reviews
  • Jun 06, 2024 by Anna Zaat

    We found Lisa through a close friend who worked with her for the same reason as us - creating a first dance for our wedding! We went into lessons not knowing how to move our feet or hold each other or move together and Lisa patiently worked with us so we came to love and enjoy dancing together, and our first dance was both fun and meaningful, and everyone said they loved it! Most importantly we looked forward to doing something together each week and having an excuse to share in a few minutes of dancing together on the weekends to practice, which truly brought us even closer before our big day. It was so fun to work with Lisa to create a simple but beautiful dance to make that moment of our wedding day extra special. She truly cares about her students and listened to when we weren't loving a certain dance move and would work with us to change it so we were happy with the dance. I look forward to our next excuse to learn a new dance so we can return to Lisa's studio!

  • Dec 26, 2023 by Nancy P

    I've been taking adult social dance lessons with Lisa for about 6 years and enjoying every minute! Lisa is not only an accomplished dancer herself, but also an exemplary teacher -- experienced, friendly, kind. No matter whether in group or private lessons, she provides valuable feedback and tips, delivered in a kind (and many times, humorous) way. The atmosphere at the group lessons and social events is very friendly and welcoming, no matter what level of dancer you may be. Lisa has created a true community of dance, and I have gained many friends from becoming a part of this group.
    If you are a music lover, try social dancing as a form of expression!! It's a great way to develop your mind, body and spirit, and no matter what style of music you like, there's a dance you can learn -- West Coast swing, salsa, bachata, tango, country 2-step, waltz, etc.

  • Nov 15, 2023 by Diana Vroeginday

    Lisa choreographed a lovely wedding dance for my husband and I. She worked with us to create something truly unique, classic, and elegant. Our guests were so impressed and enjoyed it as much as we did. Even if you are a complete beginner, I highly recommend taking dance lessons with her, she makes it easy and so much fun!

  • May 27, 2023 by Irene Kim

    My fiance and I went to two other dance instructors before we met Lisa. As soon as we had our first lesson with her, we both knew she was the one we wanted to work with to choreograph our first dance for our wedding. Her expertise and skills showed immediately as she started teaching us how to dance. The lessons were so fun that we found ourselves looking forward to them every time. She choreographed a truly beautiful and unique dance that perfectly showcases our personality and relationship. We are so very excited to surprise everyone at our wedding, all thanks to Lisa :)

  • May 21, 2023 by melissa einhorn

    Lisa is great! She was able to teach my father and I, who have no dance experience, a fun dance for the father daughter dance at my wedding. She was creative and also took our input to creat a fun dance! She is so nice and a pleasure to be taught by- would highly recommend her!

  • May 16, 2023 by Melissa Mayer

    So I decided I wanted to Have a father daughter dance, and to spice it up with something that would shock our friends and family. The problem ...I have 2 left feet. I can slow dance (so I thought), but anything beyond that is embarrassing. We called Lisa and she was very friendly and made us feel at ease. We picked the songs, the basic for the slow dance and the transition shock song. Lisa choreographed the moves to Both. I only realized after meeting with Lisa, that I could barely slow dance without tripping over myself. She taught us the moves, how to be suave and relaxed, and I was actually pretty good by the 5th lesson (my daughter by the 3rd). Everyone at the wedding LOVED it! It is a memory I will always share with my daughter. Thank you Lisa for making it possible!!!

  • Mar 22, 2023 by Serena Guo

    Genuinely a top-tier instructor, Lisa’s aptitude for dance, and for teaching dance, went above and beyond
    our expectations. Arriving with essentially no knowledge of dance, Lisa’s keen eye quickly understood and
    leveraged our strengths and weaknesses to provide us with clear, easy to implement techniques that
    dramatically improved our routine. Lisa is incredibly adept at making her students feel comfortable and
    encouraged, and we highly recommend her services. Her straight-forward and transparent pricing is what
    brought us in, and her expertise is what kept us going back.

  • Mar 05, 2023 by Jessica K.

    My fiance and I decided to take lessons for our first wedding dance because we have zero confidence in dance. Lisa was incredibly encouraging, and helped us enjoy the learning process. She was able to tailor the choreography to our style and our needs, and helped us consider every aspect of the dance from the entrance until the ending. She goes above and beyond; I truly appreciate her passion and her philosophy for dance. I would highly recommend her as your instructor.

  • Jan 20, 2023 by Nancy Diamond

    We can't say enough about Lisa from Simply Social Dancing! My husband and I wanted to learn some skills for our son's wedding. Lisa met us at our level and really taught us how to keep rhythm and learn Latin dance moves. We had a lot of fun during our lessons, and for the first time in 35 years, we looked forward to dancing at a social event!

  • Nov 16, 2022 by Leslie B

    Lisa is wonderful! She helped my (now) husband and I perfect our dance for our recent wedding. Lisa took our song, our four left feet, and choreographed a dance that looked great, but was also simple enough for us rhythm-challenged folk to follow. We felt confident and prepared, thanks to Lisa’s patience and creativity, as we performed the dance at our wedding. Although it was difficult for us at times to find the beat, and coordinate our bodies, we enjoyed the process! Highly recommend Lisa for dance lessons. She’s a wonderful teacher!

  • Oct 05, 2022 by Carissa King

    Lisa was amazing! We wanted to take some dance lessons to prepare for the first dance at our wedding, and Lisa created a beautiful and perfect dance for us! We really enjoyed each lesson and we highly recommend her!

  • Jul 31, 2022 by Simcha Hochman

    Lisa is THE BEST. Kind and insightful, Lisa turned dance into our favorite activity :)

  • Mar 13, 2022 by Michael Biagioli

    My wife and I were looking to take a few dance lessons prior to our first dance at our wedding. We wanted to have our wedding song choreographed to add something special to it. Lisa was able to do just that for us! Within just five, one hour sessions; our dance came to life. We are so pleased with the final product of our dance. Lisa was easy to work with, flexible with time, and a great teacher… especially for two people whom had never had formalized dance lessons. We highly recommend Simply Social Dancing to add something special to your wedding day.

  • Mar 05, 2021 by Simcha Hochman

  • Feb 13, 2020 by Eve N.

    I came here for a Groupon to do five bellydancing sessions. My first lesson was with Crystal she was very informative and she had a lot of fun and we had fun dancing. She takes it to your pace and doesn't force pushes you enough to where it will work for you and your movements and what your muscles can do. I had a good time coming here and I got my stress off from the day because it was a work day after all. I'll be coming up for four more sessions and maybe for some more.

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Ed Z.

    I've taken both private and group lessons with Lisa. She has a great style of teaching, very patient, and very adaptable to the specific needs of a student. I've also taken lessons with a number of teachers, and I've found no one better than Lisa.

  • Aug 15, 2019 by Rocco F.

    My wife and I used Simply Social Dancing for our first dance! First, Lisa is such a wonderful teacher and truly a pleasure to work with. My wife loves to dance but I've always been hesitant to say the least. During the period leading up to our wedding we had basically a bi-weekly schedule and our practice time was limited. Lisa tailored a dance that fit our personalities and abilities.Lisa instilled such confidence in me during our lessons that when the DJ at our wedding played a different version of "our song", my wife was immediately glaring at the DJ...lol, ready to have him start over but I began to dance and she followed! No one knew any better and "our dance" was a huge success! We could have never done this without Lisa's instruction and guidance! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience with Lisa and Simply Social Dancing!

  • Jan 10, 2018 by Stephen H

    Dinner and dancing event. We had a wonderful time doing the merengue and the food was great. Very exciting and met a lot of nice people. Thank you

  • Sep 25, 2017 by Janet P.

    My fiance and I are taking classes for our first dance and I have to say Lisa is an amazing teacher!  She helped us choreograph a dance that perfectly matches our personality and comfort level.  We are more than pleased to have her as our teacher.

  • Jun 10, 2017 by Cavano D

    Damn, I was in need of help! I could not dance to save my life. Thank God for Lisa! We had a few weeks of dance lessons before the wedding. I went from zero to hero. Everyone was like "where did you learn to dance?" I will be back for a refresher course. Guys getting married had better call and get some lessons.

  • Jun 08, 2017 by John G.

    We had a fantastic time at La Havana 59. Lisa was awesome and the crowd was great.

  • Apr 23, 2017 by Kerrie W.

    My husband and I took lessons from Lisa before our wedding. We were on a very tight schedule and Lisa was very accommodating. She helped us develop a dance that fit our personalities. Most importantly to me, she made my husband feel comfortable dancing!! He was excited for our first dance at our wedding, which we performed flawlessly. We cannot thank Lisa enough for helping us!

  • Feb 13, 2016 by Eunice Charles

    I came into dancing as an adult and it has opened me up to notice more about my body than athletics did in my youth. Dancing is fun and is a wonderful way to meet new people. It is also a timeless avocation for all ages. I recommend Lisa’s classes, Latin and Smooth, as well as events; Biagio’s and La Havana 59. Hope to see you in there!

  • Jan 11, 2016 by Irene A.

    I came to tango class preparing for a trip to Argentina in July   I have stayed for much more.  Warm welcoming people, even ratio of men to women and a teacher that challenged me to do more than I thought possible.u I've loved the events at LA Havana and Biaggios where we get to take what we learn to the dance floor and meet new people I am now having fun taking fox trot and swing and considering salsa. Thanks to Lisa, I have gained the confidence to call myself a dancer. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to get out and have a good time

  • Jan 08, 2016 by chris patoir

    Having a great time at Simply Social. Everyone is friendly and help each other out. Lisa provides a fun learning environment and teaches more than just steps and routines. I've become more comfortable in leading various dances rather than worry about simple missteps. The personal tips you get even in group classes are very helpful.

    The best part for me has been learning to dance my own style and not just repeat an assigned sequence.

  • Nov 07, 2015 by Kevin D.

    Wow, we had a great time at a dinner dance event at La Havana thru Simply Social Dance Studio. Lisa was great (I can't dance) at making me fee comfortable. We learned some Bachata, Merengue, Rumba, & Cha Cha... fun dance. I would recommend this studio to friends and family. Food was great and dancing was exciting

  • Sep 08, 2015 by Herb Leary

    I started dancing at Simply Social Dancing because I was looking for a new activity and I knew I did not want competition dance. I gave it a try and dance has become one of my favorite activities, thanks to Lisa. Lisa is an excellent dance instructor: patient, knowledgeable and skilled. But, most important to me, she makes class fun. After working all day, I come to class and leave with more energy than I had when I entered. Dancing, laughing, learning and meeting new people make Lisa Skates’ Simply Social Dancing a very special and ideal place to learn to dance and have fun.